Bikefit Summer Night Series Race 10 (Road Race)

Mitchell McKenzie-Mol carried his good form from last week through into this week’s race, with a convincing win in the A-grade cycling race around the Ben-Morven circuit, with a finish up on Marlborough Ridge.

It was the 10th and final race in the Bikefit Summer Night Series held by Cuddon Cycling Marlborough on Tuesday evening, with next week a closing-off 2up time trial which doesn’t count for the overall results.

The hot summer conditions did not deter many riders, and all up about 30 riders lined up for the 4 grades.

The A-grade saw the bunch go round the circuit in close formation for 3 of the 4 laps; but with Mitchell Mol wanting revenge for his failed attempt to win on this course in early December, some fireworks were to be expected in the last lap. Mol made his move, as last time, around the 4km to go mark turning onto New Renwick Rd. This time he was not on his own as Ethan Batt lead them out to a good lead before bowing out with about 3km to go. Behind the chase was on with the rest of the riders all more or less split up trying to get back to the lead. However Mol kept going strongly with Niels van Antwerpen closely behind, but not being able to close the gap. The final sprint up the climb of the Marlborough Ridge saw Mol stay in front for the win, followed by Niels van Antwerpen, about 15 seconds behind. Gerard van Antwerpen was only another 5 seconds slower for 3rd, well ahead of Luc Cowley.

The B-Grade race also covered 4 laps, here the field split up in the last km’s leading up to and on the steep finishing climb. Andrew Bidwell finished strongly and was well ahead of Greg Baunton at the line, Mike Murphey followed behind for 3rd.

The C-grade raced over 3 laps, Adam Bidwell held off Marie Peart and Bruce Moran for the victory.

Points gained in the races counted towards an overall result for the Bikefit SummerNite Series. Ethan Batt did extremely well in the A-grade by winning 4 races, giving him 60 points, 11 points ahead of Gerard van Antwerpen, Mitchell Mol and Niels van Antwerpen ended up equal on points, with Mol getting the advantage because of his better result in the last race.

Consistency saw Greg Baunton win the B-grade, 13 pts ahead of Andrew Bidwell, who held back Callum Caughey by 1 point.

Marie Peart won 3 of the C-grade races and places well in all others, giving her a big lead of 27 pts over Graham Henderson, Brittany Lucas placed 3rd 4 points back.

The D-grade overall went to Jess Spencer, 40 pts ahead of both Lauchlan Hall and Jacob Crossley.



A PDF of the results is available here:Results - Bikefit Summer Night Series 26.1.16 (RR).pdf

A-Grade (40km): 1 Mitchell Mol; 2 Niels van Antwerpen; 3 Gerard van Antwerpen; 4 Luc Cowley; 5 Brent Ackroyd; 6 Sean o'Neil; 7, Ethan Batt; 8 Dylan Hodson;

B-Grade (40km): 1 Andrew Bidwell; 2 Greg Baunton; 3 Mike Murphy; 4 Glen Herkt; 5 Joel Clark; 6 Susan van der Pol;

C-Grade (30km): 1 Adam Bidwell; 2 Marie Peart; 3 Bruce Moran; 4 Graeme Henderson; 5 Katie Batt;

D-Grade (20km): 1 Lauchlan Hall; 2 Jacob Crossley;