Race Report - Biikefit Summer Night Series Race 6 (Benmorven Road Race)

The Ben-Morven circuit, with a finish up on Marlborough Ridge, was the venue of the 6th race in the Bikefit Summer Night Series held by Cuddon Cycling Marlborough on Tuesday evening.

As in all previous races of the series there was good support from the riders, with about 30 racers signing in, keen to compete in one of the 4 grades. University holidays saw some students back into the local racing scene, resulting in a good mix of junior and senior riders. 

In the A-grade an attack from the gun by Ethan Batt and Mitchell Mol got things off on a hot pace early on. However the bunch regrouped during the 1st of the 4 laps, and despite some more attacks from several rides, a complete group presented itself for the final 5kms of the race. Turning onto New Renwick Rd. Mitchell Mol broke away from the others in an attempt to get enough headway to tackle the climb to the finish on the Marlborough Ridge on his own. The bunch had to let him go, but obviously Mol had given too much in his solo attack, as he faded on the steep climb. He was caught by the bunch about halfway up, with Ethan Batt leading the way to another victory, convincingly beating Dylan Vile and Gerard van Antwerpen at the finish line.

The B-Grade race also covered 4 laps, and again this was the most popular with the riders. The 14 rider strong bunch stayed together during the whole race, with not a single rider being dropped. This meant the complete group presented itself at the bottom of the last climb to tackle the uphill sprint to the line. At the top Peter Crampton held off Greg Baunton for the win with a very small margin, followed by Andrew Bidwell. After that the judges had an easy job to tick the riders off, as the tough climb split the field considerably.

The C-grade raced over 3 laps, with a bunch sprint deciding the placings as well. Marie Peart proved strongest holding off Shaun MacDonald and Bruce Moran.

A full set of results is available here: Results - Bikefit Summer Night Series 8.12.15.pdf

A Points table for the series to date is available here: Bikefit Summer Night Series Overall Points Table (8 December 2015).pdf



A-Grade (40km): 1, Ethan Batt; 2, Dylan Vile; 3, Gerard van Antwerpen; 4, Luc Cowley; 5, Callum Caughey; 6, Mitchel Mol; 7, Brent Ackroyd.
B-Grade (40km): 1, Peter Crampton; 2, Greg Baunton; 3, Andrew Bidwell; 4, Sam Morgan; 5, Andrew Gifford; 6, Chris Grammer; 7, Joel Clark; 8, Paul Newman; 9, Ray Dunstan; 10, Nick Batt; 11, Dylan Hodson; 12, Susan van der Pol; 13, Glen Herkt; 14, Nick Blackiston.
C-Grade (30km): 1, Marie Peart; 2, Shaun MacDonald; 3, Bruce Moran; 5, Graeme Henderson; 6, Katie Batt.
D-Grade (20km) 1, Jess Spencer;