Bikefit Summer Night Series Race 7 - TT

A surprise entry by a couple one of top New Zealand’s cyclists in Tuesday night’s Bikefit Summer Night Series time trial made for a change in the usual finishing order.

Ashburton's Jason Christie, who took bronze at the elite national championship early this year, recorded a near record breaking time of 19min 44sec for the race against the clock over 16km on the New Renwick Rd. course.

19 riders presented themselves at the start of the 7th race in the series, held by Cuddon Cycling Marlborough in nice warm summer racing conditions with not too much wind.

In addition to Christie there was Cameron Karwowski, a member of the New Zealand track endurance team, 2 weeks ago riding to a silver placing at the UCI World Cup track meeting in Cambridge, putting in an appearance while visiting his parents in Renwick. Karwowski finished 3rd in a time of 21:07. Local under-19 rider Ethan Batt showed his great form by finishing amongst these two top riders in 2nd place with a personal best time of 20:55.

Ray Dunstan clocked a 21:28, good for 4th,followed by Josh Scott 5th with 22:02. The next two riders got personal bests as well in their efforts on this course, with Callum Caughey finishing 6th in 23:02, and only 3 seconds behind him Dylan Hodson 7th in 23:05.

Further down the field there were some close and one equal finish, showing the keen competition between the riders.

This race was the last one in the series for this year, the next one, a time trial again, being scheduled for January the 12th, after a break for the Christmas and New Year’s holidays.

Results: (16km) 1. Jason Christie 19:44 (average speed 48.6km/hr); 2. Ethan Batt 20:55; 3. Cameron Karwowski 21:07; 4. Ray Dunstan 21:28; 5. Josh Scott 22:02; 6. Callum Caughey 23:02; 7. Dylan Hodson 23:05; 8. Martin Fletcher 23:20; 9. Dave Grono 23:41; 10. Ben Verhoef 23:54; 11. Greg Baunton 24:37; 12. Chris Grammer 25:32; 13. Andrew Bidwell 25:36; 14. Joel Madsen-Clark 26:49; 15=. Dean Craighead 28:03; 15=. Sophie Battt 28:03; 17. Adam Bidwell 30:02; 18. Jessica Spencer 34:19; 19. Lauchlan Hall 35:13;