Junior Winter Series Race 1 - Lower Wairau 11 June 2016

Cuddon Cycling Marlborough is holding a series races for the junior riders in preparation of the Schools South Island Championships to be held the 9th and 10th of July in Christchurch.

The first event held in beautiful mild weather conditions last Saturday afternoon attracted a fair number of junior riders and also included a few seniors. The series will all be held on the Lower Wairau circuit, and to reflect the events at the championship, include time trails, scratch and handicap racing.

Racing kicked off with a 1 lap, 7km, time trial for all riders. Niels van Antwerpen got the best time of 10m54s, 5 seconds ahead of his dad, senior Gerard van Antwerpen, Sam Spencer was not far off with 11m07s, James Greer was a further 28 seconds back at 11m35s.

After this a handicap race was contested, over 1 lap for the younger riders and 2 laps for the older ones. The time trial results enabled tight handicapping, in the 2 lap race the groups came only together close to the finish, with the scratch group of 3 jumping across the collected others at 2km to go. Van Antwerpen won again, holding Spencer off in the sprint. Greer led the others in, ahead of Joel Madsen-Clark. Mickey Luff held off his brother Jimmy in the 1 lap race, with Hugh Straker beating Stacey Mitchell for 3rd place.

The last event on the day was a scratch race, again over 1 and 2 laps. As the riders were starting to feel the efforts of the previous events no major efforts were made to break up the fields. This resulted in sprint finishes in both categories, with both Van Antwerpens taking the top 2 placings, Spencer was a close third, and Katie Batt got an excellent 4th place, ahead of Marie Peart. Mitchell held Straker off in the 1 lap race, with the Luff brothers close behind.


Time Trial 7km: 1. Niels van Antwerpen 10:54; 2. Gerard van Antwerpen 10:59; 3. Sam Spencer 11:07; 4. James Greer 11:35; 5. Joel Madsen-Clark 11:43; 6. Graham Mitchell 12:17; 7. Marie Peart 12:21; 8. Katie Batt 12:31; 9. Hugh Straker 13:04; 10. Stacey Mitchell 13:46; 11. Jimmy Luff 16:34; 12. Mickey Luff 17:35;

Handicap, 1 lap: 1. M Luff; 2. J Luff; 3. H Straker; 4. S Mitchell.

Handicap, 2 lap:1. N van Antwerpen; 2. S Spencer; 3. G van Antwerpen; 4. J Greer; 5. J Madson-Clark; 6. G Mitchell; 7. K Batt; 8. M Peart.

Scratch Race 1 lap:1. S Mitchell; 2. H Straker; 3. M Luff; 4. J Luff.

Scratch Race 2 lap:1. N van Antwerpen; 2. G van Antwerpen; 3. S Spencer; 4. K Batt; 5. M Peart; 6. G Mitchell; 7. J Greer; J Madson-Clark dnf.