Taylor Pass HC Race 10 October 2015

A small field of riders competed last Saturday in race 13 of the Cuddon
Cycling Marlborough winter / spring series in mild but windy conditions.
Back by popular demand, the tough Taylor Pass road out and back course was
utilised for a distance of 45km.  The field was divided up into small
handicap groups of 2 or 3 riders.  The groups held well together, except for
the 2nd break duo, where Glen Herkt pulled out of the race early on, leaving
his co-marker Dylan Hodson on his own.

The scratch duo of Sean O'Neill and Gerard van Antwerpen made up time
quickly on the break trio, and caught them just over halfway.  A hard effort
by the strong O'Neill saw Graham Mitchell dropped shortly after the joining
of the 2 groups. After that the bunch stayed together and caught the 2 front
markers during the uphill section of the last lap. O'Neill, arguably the
strongest rider on the day, attacked with about 2km to go, and initially got
a nice gap, but the others kept working to keep him within striking
distance. In the final km a fast finish by van Antwerpen got him up to and
past O'Neill to claim 1st place and fastest time. Mike Murphy came in 3rd
ahead of Andrew Gifford and Dylan Hodson.

Results: 45km:
1 Gerard van Antwerpen (Scr) 70m34s, 2 Sean O'Neill (Scr) 70m36s, 3 Mike
Murphy (off 1m30s) 72m08s, 4 Andrew Gifford (off 1m30s) 72m13s, 5 Dylan
Hodson (off 5m) 75m53s, 6 Graham Mitchell (off 1m30s) 78m25s, Glen Herkt,
DNF, (off 5m), Ian Martella, DNF, (off 12m), Dave Hutchison, DNF, (off 12m)

PDF of results here: Results Talor Pass HC 10.10.2015.pdf