Streeter Smashes Record

Junior under 17 rider Callum Streeter outsprinted his rivals and smashed the record when he won the James Brothers Trophy at Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s events at Fairhall on Saturday afternoon.

The junior under 17 grade 22km massed start event started and finished at Fairhall hall taking in one lap of the large Hawkesbury circuit. A good field of 18 riders started with Streeter, Ethan Roach and Jamie Hawke soon riding away. The trio worked hard together with Streeter taking line honours convincingly from Roach and Hawke respectively. Streeter’s time of 34 minutes 09 seconds sheared 18 seconds off the record set by Nathan Stretch in 1996. The sealed handicap section was won by the consistent Emma Crosswell who was 2 seconds up on Daniel Cresswell with Streeter taking third place 2 minutes 33seconds back.

The open grade 41km handicap event for the Funnell Trophy took in two laps of the large Hawkesbuy circuit and one lap of the small circuit also starting and finishing at Fairhal hall. After the first two laps it was consistent riding by the 13 minute bunch that saw them in control. With 12km to go the small scratch group of George Baxter, Kevin Bishell and Chris Heywood were only 10 seconds up on time on the 3 minute 2nd break bunch of 10 riders. This 3m group had caught the 6 minute group which swelled their numbers to 15 riders and were 1 minute up on time on the 1 minute 30 second break bunch. 

The front five stayed away and a good close sprint to the line saw Lance Spencer take line honours from Martyn Loach, Peter Burge, Willi Borst and Wayne Barnett. Conway Taylor, Antony Clark and Martin Fletcher headed in the big bunch one and a half minutes back. The sratch trio rallied in the final stages with Baxter taking fastest time from Bishell and Heywood 31 seconds up on the Taylor’s group.


Open grade- Funnell Trophy 41km hcp, L Spencer (off 13m) 1, M Loach (off 13m) 2, P Burge (off 13m) 3, W Borst (off 13m) 4, W Barnett (off 13m) 5, C Taylor (off 3m) 6, A Clark (off 3m) 7, M Fletcher (off 3m) 8, B Streeter (off 6m) 9, T Neal (off 6m) 10. Fastest Time, G Baxter (scr) 60m 04s 1, K Bishell (scr) s.t. 2, C Heywood (scr) s.t. 3, C Taylor (off 6m) 60m 35s 4, A Clark (off 6m) s.t.5. Woman’s fastest time, Rhonda Murphy (off 6m) 63m 35s.

Junior under 17 grade- James Bros. Trophy 22km massed start, C Streeter 34m 09s *New Record 1, E Roach 34m 10s 2, J Hawke 34m 14s 3, H Barnett 39m 47s 4, E Ward 39m 49s 5, C Saunders 40m 39s 6, L Landon-Lane s.t. 7, P Greven 41m 17s 8, S Ginders 41m 24s 9, J Ives 41m 25s 10. Sealed hcp, E Crosswell (10m) 31m 34s 1, D Cresswell (10m) 31m 36s 2, C Streeter (scr) 34m 09s 3, E Roach (scr) 34m 10s 4, J Hawke (scr) 34m 14s 5.