Roach Races To Win

Josh Roach was decisive in his sprint to the line when he took line honours in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Osgood Cups event on Saturday afternoon.

The open grade 54km handicap event covered a course from Blenheim to Picton and return. The headwind on the outward journey took its toll on the front markers with a 30 minute handicap over the scratch markers being deleted to 7 minutes at the top of the Elevation climb on the return journey.The journey home saw the middle groups not losing alot of time to the back markers. The 6 minute markers had pulled in the 13 minute markers just after Kormiko and hit the front before Tuamarina. Strong riding saw them hold their ground with Roach taking the sprint from Todd Neal, Andrew Gifford, Gareth Morris and Brian Streeter respectively. The fastest time trophy was won by Cameron Karwowski when he held off co-markers Conal Sloan, Chris Heywood and Ray Dunstan respectively.

The junior under 17 grade rode a 24km handicap event over 3 laps of the Lower Wairau circuit. It was Nick Blakiston (off 18m) who rode strongly to hold off the 8 minute group by just 28 seconds for victory. Will Hart led the chasers in for the minor placings from Jess ives and Alex Peter. Scratch marker Callum Streeter out sprinted co- marker Ethan Roach for fastest time honours.


Open grade- Osgood Cups 54km handicap event, J Roach (off 6m) 1, T Neal (off 6m) 2, A Gifford (off 6m) 3, G Morris (off 6m) 4, B Streeter (off 6m) 5, M Hughes (off 13m) 6, C McCarthy (off 13m) 7, M Loach (off 13m) 8, J Kidd (off 4m) 9, C Murphy (off 6m) 10. Fastest time, C Karwowski (scratch) 79m 30s 1, C Sloan (scratch) s.t. 2, C Heywood (scratch) s.t. 3, R Dunstan (scratch) s.t. 4, D Craig  (1m 30s) 81m 00s 5. Womens fastest time, R Murphy (6m) 84m 40s 1, M Hughes (13m) 90m 46s 2, C McCarthy (13m) s.t. 3.

Junior under 17 grade- 24km handicap event, N Blakistan (off 18m) 1, W Hart (off 8m) 2, J Ives (off 8m) 3, A Peter (off 8m) 4, P Newton (off 14m) 5. Fastest time, C Streeter (scratch) 34m 55s 1, E Roach (scratch) 34m 57s 2, C Saunders (6m) 40m 56s 3.