Interclub Shields Retained

Cuddon Cycling Marlborough comfortably retained the Nelson/Marlborough interclub shields after a no show from Nelson clubs in the final round at Fairhall on Saturday afternoon.

The open grade 50km handicap event for the H G Hunter Memorial Shield saw Cuddon Cycling Marlborough go into the final round with a good lead of 111 points to Star and Garter Wheelers 88 points and Cycling Nelson 11 points. A good field of local riders braved the cool and wet conditions, covering 2 laps of the Hawkesbury/Benmorven circuit before finishing up the Ridge Resort hill. The scratch group gathered in the break bunch (2m 30s) and the 5 minute groups early in the second lap and continued their chase of the middle to front markers. The 5 strong 10 minute group were unlucky to be caught 2km from home with front marker Denis Church (off 31m) being caught on the Ridge hill finish. Junior under 19 scratch rider Cameron Karwowski took double honours with the win and fastest time from co-markers Chris Heywood and Ray Dunstan. With Cuddon Cycling Marlborough taking the maximum points (210) the H G Hunter Memorial Shield was retained.

The junior under 17 grade rode a 24km handicap event over the open course finishing at Fairhall Hall. Elodie Jacoby (off 14m) rode a strong solo race to take line honours 50 seconds clear of 8 minute markers Pim Greven and Leatham Landon-Lane. Fastest time was taken by scratch rider Callum Streeter who outsprinted his co-marker Ethan Roach. Cuddon Cycling Marlborough easily retained the Picton Shield after overcoming a first round deficit in Nelson.


Open grade- Interclub 50km handicap, C Karwowski (off scr) 1, C Heywood (off scr) 2, R Dunstan (off scr) 3, S Rooney (off 2m 30s) 4, M Bruce (off 2m 30s) 5, G Ludemann (off 5m) 6, P Halligan (off 10m) 7, D Craig (off scr) 8, M Mulder (off 2m 30s) 9, M Murphy (off 5m) 10. Fastest time, C Karwowski (scr) 1hr 16m 48s 1, C Heywood (scr) 1hr 16m 57s 2, R Dunstan (scr) 1hr 17m 00s 3, D Craig (scr) 1hr 17m 15s 4, B Frazer (scr) 1hr 17m 19s 5. H G Hunter Memorial Shield final result, Cuddon Cycling Marlborough 321pt, Star & Garter Wheelers 88pt, Cycling Nelson 11pt.

Junior under 17 grade- Interclub 24km handicap, E Jacoby (14m) 1, P Greven (8m) 2, L Landon-Lane (8m) 3, P Landon-Lane (18m) 4, C Streeter (scr) 5. Fastest time, C Streeter (scr) 38m 16s 1, E Roach (scr) s.t. 2, P Greven (8m) 45m 18s 3. Picton Shield final result, Cuddon Cycling Marlborough 68pt, Cycling Nelson 25pt, Star & Garter Wheelers 17pt.