Smith Keeps Away For Win

Cassandra Smith had a strong ride to take victory in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s handicap event on the Northbank Road last Saturday afternoon.

The open grade 60km event started at Forrest Estate Winery and followed a course up the Northbank Road and returned to finish just short of State Highway One. On the outward journey the 3m 30s break bunch had ridden hard to keep away from scratch bunch and had caught the 6m group just before the turn. Smith and co-marker Denis Church (off 33m) were still out front by a big margin at the turn for home. Smith rode clear in the latter stages for a fine win by 43 seconds back to Church. The scratch group of Chris Heywood, Gerard van Antwerpen, Brendan Neylon, Tony Catterick and Conway Taylor caught the main bunch just 12km from home to finish only 24 seconds behind Church. Van Antwerpen took the sprint for third place and fastest time honours ahead of Glen Herkt (3m 30s), Martyn Bruce (3m 30s), and Pete Halligan (off 6m).

The junior under 17 grade competed in a 30km handicap event also on Northbank Road. Good teamwork saw Emma Crosswell and Elodie Jacoby ( off 3m) saw them go through the field with Crosswell taken the final sprint to the line from Jacoby with Anna Duggan (off 7m) taking third place. Will hart took fastest time off scratch. A 20km handicap event saw nick Blakiston win over Piers Landon-Lane and Lydia Barnett.


Open grade- 60km handicap event, C Smith (off 33m) 1, D Church (off 33m) 2, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 3, G Herkt (off 3m 30s) 4, Martyn Bruce (off 3m 30s) 5, P Halligan (off 6m) 6, T Neal (off 3m 30s) 7, C Taylor (off scr) 8, A Clark (off 3m 30s) 9, M Mulder (off 3m 30s) 10. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1hr 32m 27s 1, C Taylor (scr) s.t. 2, C Heywood (scr) s.t. 3, T Catterick (scr) s.t. 4, B Neylon (scr) s.t. 5.

Junior under 17 grade- 30km handicap event, E Crosswell (off 3m) 1, E Jacoby (off 3m) 2, A Duggan (off 7m) 3, W Hart (scr) 4. Fastest time, W Hart (scr) 61m 50s 1. 20km handicap event, N Blakiston (off scr) 1, P Landon-Lane (off scr) 2, L Barnett (off scr) 3. Fastest time, N Blakiston (scr) 44m 06s.