Sprint To McManaway

Mike McManaway outsprinted his co-markers to take victory in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Van Antwerpen Trophies event at Grovetown last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 44km handicap event started and finished in Vickerman Street, Grovetown, taking in three laps of the Lower Wairau circuit. With the exception of the scratch group the handicap bunches had closed up over the first two laps heading for a grandstand finish. Stuart Curnow and Almuth Waechter (off 18m) were unlucky to be caught by the 9 minute bunch 800m from home. This group was being chased down rapidly by the combined 4m break and 6m bunch over the final 2 kilometres. With a strong leadout by Bryan Streeter, Graham Henderson started the sprint to the line to be overhauled by McManaway’s strong finish over the last 30 metres. Chris Ireland took third place from mary Lister and Peter Burge. Only 10 seconds back Glen Herkt (break), Marcel Mulder and Andrew Curnow headed in the large chasing group.
The fastest time trophy went to scratchmarker Conway Taylor from co-markers Gerard van Antwerpen and Josh Scott.
The junior under 17 grade competed in a 24km handicap event over one and a half laps of the open circuit for the Amtman and Sincock Trophies. Solo scratchman Ethan Roach worked hard to reach the front of the field in the latter stages. The sprint to the line saw Roach take first place to give him a well deserved  handicap and time honours. Roach’s time was only 17 seconds outside the record set by Conal Sloan in 2006. Sonia Ginders (6m)  and Will Hart (4m) were second and third respectively.
Open grade- Van Antwerpen Trophies 44km hcp, M Mcmanaway (9m) 1, G Henderson (9m) 2, C Ireland (9m) 3, M Lister (9m) 4, P Burge (9m) 5, W Smith (9m) 6, B Streeter (9m) 7, G Herkt (4m) 8, M Mulder (4m) 9, T Neal (4m) 10. Fastest time, C Taylor (scr) 65m 50s 1, G van Antwerpen (scr) s.t. 2, J Scott (scr) s.t. 3, C Heywood (scr) s.t. 4, R Dunstan (scr) s.t. 5. Fastest Woman, R Murphy (6m) 68m 40s 1, M Lister (9m) 71m 30s 2.
Junior under 17 grade- Amtman/Sincock Trophies 24km hcp, E Roach (scr) 1, S Ginders (6m) 2, W Hart (4m) 3, D Cresswell (6m) 4, T Cresswell (13m) 5. Fastest time, E Roach (scr) 39m 51s 1, W Hart (4m) 43m 51s 2, S Ginders (6m0 45m 51s 3.