New Rider McManaway Wins

A close sprint finish saw Lisa McManaway take victory in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Funnell Trophy event from Fairhall hall last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 41km handicap event drew a good field of forty riders in the cool but reatively calm conditions. The riders covered two laps of the large Hawkesbury circuit and one lap of the small Hawkesbury circuit before returning home. Most handicap groups stayed fairly intact over the first two laps with the back groups closing in in the final 10kms. The scratch group’s strength had been enhanced by the return of Kevin Bishell and Tony Catterick, and had pulled in all but two groups with 5km to go. The 22 minute front markers, Denis Church, Gill Painter, Sue Heagney and Sharon de Castro were unlucky to be overhauled by the 3 remaining 15 minute markers with just 2km to go. This trio sprinted in with McManaway taking the win by half a bike length from Leonie van den Bergh and Stu Curnow in third place. Forty five seconds later Gerard van Antwerpen led in the large chasing bunch to again take the fastest time honours just ahead of co-markers Catterick, Bishell and Jamie Hawke.
The junior under 17 grade 22km massed start/sealed handicap event for the James Bros.Trophy was ridden once around the large Hawkesbury circuit and return. The race was turned into a bit of disarray when several riders went the wrong way. Will Hart and Sonia Ginders worked well together with Hart taking the win from Ginders at the line. Nick Blakiston came in 3 minutes back for third place. The sealed handicap went to Ginders from Hart and Blakiston.
Open grade- Funnell Trophy 41km hcp, L McManaway (off 15m) 1, L van den Bergh (off 15m) 2, S Curnow (off 15m) 3, S Heagney (off 22m) 4, G Painter (off 22m) 5, D Church (off 22m) 6, S de Castro (off 22m) 7, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 8, T Catterick (off scr) 9, K Bishell (off scr) 10. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (scr) 58m 31s 1, T Catterick (scr) s.t. 2, K Bishell (scr) s.t. 3, J Hawke (scr) s.t. 4. Fastest Woman, R Murphy (off 3m 30s) 62m 02s.
Junior under 17 grade- James Bros.Trophy 22km Massed start, W Hart 39m 50s 1, S Ginders 39m 52s 2, N Blakiston 43m 43s 3. Sealed handicap, S Ginders (off 3m) 36m 52s 1, W Hart (off 2m) 37m 50s 2, N Blakiston (off 5m) 38m 43s 3.