Taege Wins Osgood, Van Antwerpen Smashes Record

Gerard van Antwerpen kept his consistent form to smash the race record in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Osgood Cups event from Blenheim to Picton and return last Saturday.
The open grade 54km handicap event drew another large field in the cool conditions. The 5 front markers (off 30 min) stayed intact until the Elevation climbs in and out of Picton. The big mover in the field was the 8 strong scratch bunch who had gathered in the 3 minute break bunch before Picton and the 5 minute bunch shortly after. Front markers Karina Taege and Denis Church stuck to their task with Taege going it alone approximately 4km from home. Taege took a well deserved victory with just 43 seconds back to a bunch of 14 riders who sprinted for the minor placings. Scratch rider van Antwerpen headed off co-markers Paul Newman, Kevin Bishell, Ray Dunstan and Chris Heywood for time honours. Van Antwerpen shaved 32 seconds off his own record of 1hr 15m 02s set back in 1999.
The junior under 17 grade rode in a 24km handicap event over 3 laps of the lower Wairau circuit. It was front marker Piers Landon-Lane (off 14m) who headed the field home 1minute clear of Daniel Cresswell (off 7m) with the consistently improving Nick Blakiston (off 2m) taking third, another 23 seconds back. Fastest time went to scratch rider Callum Saunders.
Open grade- Osgood Cups 54km hcp, K Taege (off 30m) 1, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 2, P Newman (off scr) 3, K Bishell (off scr) 4, R Dunstan (off scr) 5, C Heywood (off scr) 6, D Craig (off 3m) 7, G Ludemann (off 4m 30s) 8, T Catterick (off scr) 9, J Scott (off scr) 10. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1hr 14m 30s *New Record 1, P Newman (scr) s.t. 2, K Bishell (scr) s.t. 3, R Dunstan (scr) s.t. 4, C Heywood (scr) s.t. 5.
Junior under 17 grade- 24km hcp, P Landon-Lane (off 14m) 1, D Cresswell (off 7m) 2, N Blakiston (off 2m) 3, E Jacoby (off 2m) 4, T Cresswell (off 14m) 5. Fastest time, C Saunders (scr) 38m 35s 1, N Blakiston (2m) 39m 15s 2, E Jacoby (2m) 39m 56s 3.