Mahakipawa Hill To Challenge

Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s riders will be tested on the hills as they compete for the Okaramio Hotel Challenge Trophy, tomorrow afternoon.
The open grade 50km handicap event covers a rolling course from Okaramio to Havelock and then climbs over the Mahakipawa Hill to almost Linkwater and return. The challenge for the middle to front markers is to stay intact over the hills to avoid being run down by the backmarkers on the return journey. The battle for fastest time honours will be interesting with up to 10 riders on the scratch mark which includes Gerard van Antwerpen, Conway Taylor, Kevin Bishell, Tony Catterick, Paul Newman, Josh Scott, Ray Dunstan, Chris Heywood, Richard Anderson and Jamie Hawke. Past winners of the trophy riding are Gill Painter (1972), Bishell (1994), Paul Johnson (2002), Glen Herkt (2006), Sharon de Castro (2007) and Jamie Kidd (2008). 
The junior under 17 grade will compete in a mini tour from Fairhall Hall. The event will consist of a short time trial, a hill climb and a road race.
Open grade riders and junior under 17 grade riders are to assemble at the Okaramio Tavern and Fairhall Hall respectively at 1pm for a 1.30pm start.