Church Takes Okaramio Challenge

A strong ride on the hills saw front handicap marker Denis Church take victory in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Okaramio Hotel Challenge Trophy event last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 50km event covered a rolling course from Okaramio to Havelock and then over the Mahakipawa hill to almost Linkwater and return. On the outward journey the 32 minute front markers stayed  together until Church made his move over the hill. With the icy conditions over the Mahakipawa hill all groups were cautious and stayed intact with the race on over the final 15km. The big movers were the 11 strong 2 minute break bunch who had picked up the majority of the field with 6km to go. Church rode in over 2 minutes clear of his co-markers for a well deserved win. Gill Painter took second place just ahead of Sharon de Castro with Cathy Hale another minute back just ahead of the chasers. Todd Neal (off 2m) won the bunch sprint from co-markers Antony Clark and Brad Sidley and was rewarded with fastest time by beating the scratch riders by a mere 12 seconds.
The junior under 17 grade competed in a mini tour over 3 stages at Fairhall. Nick Blakiston was in good form to win the 2.1km time trial, the hillclimb, and the 8km road race for the overall win on 30pts. The minor placings went to Quinn Karwowski (25.5pt) and Daniel Cresswell (25pt). The first junior woman was Alex Peters (16.5pt) from Elodie Jacoby (15pt) and Georgie Kydd (13.5pt). The sealed handicap win in the road event went to Piers Landon-Lane with Nathan McIntyre and Karwowski second equal.
Open grade- Okaramio Hotel Challenge Trophy 50km hcp, D Church (off 32m) 1, G Painter (off 32m) 2, S de Castro (off 32m) 3, C Hale (off 32m) 4, T Neal (off 2m) 5, A Clark (off 2m) 6, B Sidley (off 2m) 7, D Craig (off 2m) 8, M Mulder (off 2m) 9, R Dunn (off 2m) 10. Fastest time, T Neal (2m) 1hr 17m 22s 1, A Clark (2m) s.t. 2, B Sidley (2m) s.t. 3, D Craig (2m) s.t. 4, M Mulder (2m) s.t. 5.
Junior under 17 grade- Mini Tour, Stage One, 2.1km TT, N Blakiston 4m 24s 1, Q Karwowski 4m 47s 2, D Cresswell 4m 52s 3, N McIntyre 4m 58s 4, G Kydd and A Peters 5m 00s 5 equal. Stage Two, Hillclimb, N Blakiston 1m 54s 1, D Cresswell 1m 56s 2, Q Karwowski and N McIntyre 1m 59s 3 equal, A Peters 2m 02s 5. Stage Three, 8km road race, N Blakiston 15m 56s 1, Q Karwowski 16m 10s 2, D Cresswell 16m 15s 3, E Jacoby 17m 01s 4, N McIntyre 17m 05s 5. Sealed hcp road race, P Landon-Lane (3m) 14m 13s 1, N McIntyre (1m 15s) and Q Karwowski (20s) 15m 50s 2 equal, P Newsham (1m 15s) s.t. 4, D Cresswell (20s) 15m 55s 5. Overall time classification, N Blakiston 30pt 1, Q Karwowski 25.5pt 2, D Cresswell 25pt 3, N McIntyre 20.5pt 4, A Peters 16.5pt 5.