Strong Competition For Squire Cup/Troubador Trophy

A large field is expected for Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Troubador Trophy and Ray Squire Memorial Cup event at Rapaura tomorrow afternoon.

The open grade 70km massed start/sealed handicap event covers 6 laps of the Rapaura circuit taking in Hammerichs Road, Old Renwick Rd, O’Dwyers Rd and Rapaura Road. The Squire Cup for fastest time will see past winners Kevin Bishell (1988, 2002 and 2003) and Gerard van Antwerpen (2008) trying to repeat their efforts. Up to a dozen riders could remain in the front group for time honours with a possibility that Robin Reid’s 1998 record of 1hr 36m 15s might be broken. The Troubador Trophy for handicap will see past winners Graham Henderson (1979), Denis Church (1993), Van Antwerpen (1997), Gill Painter (1999, 2008), Rene de Ruiter (2000), Jamie Kidd (2001), and Glen Herkt (2004, 2005) all in contention.
The junior under 17 grade 35km massed start/sealed handicap  will run over 3laps of the open course with the Troubador Trophy going to the handicap winner. Ethan Roach and Callum Saunders are expected to be dominant in the time stakes.
All riders are to assemble at the Rapaura Hall at 1pm for a 1.30pm start.