Hawke Cleans Up In Cuddon Championship

Junior under 19 rider Jamie Hawke outsprinted his rivals to take first place and fastest time honours in the Cuddon Marlborough 80km Open Championships at Fairhall on Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 80km handicap event was run over a new course this year which tested the best of the competitors. Starting and finishing at Wither Hills Winery on New Renwick Road the event took in 6 laps of a circuit including the Benmorven block and the Ridge Resort climb. After three laps the front and middle markers were starting to tire and the stronger riders were starting to show out in the back groups. A timely break before the Ridge Hill climb saw scratch marker Brendan Neylon pressure his nine co-markers, with the youngsters Jono Lee and Hawke quickly joining him. The only other rider to successfully get across the gap was Conway Taylor. The four soon had the eight strong 6 minute break bunch in their sights and split them apart on the next climb. Jamie Kidd and David Craig joined them as the now front runners and as the pressure went on again it was Taylor and Craig who dropped away. These four just rode away to be 3 minutes 40 seconds ahead of their nearest rivals at the line. Hawke convincingly won the sprint to take the C Gibson Challenge Cup (first place), the Ray Gibson Challenge Cup (fastest time), the Savoy Trophy (first local rider) and the Junior under 19 mens title sash. Lee was a good second with another 8 seconds back to Neylon (Senior Mens title) and Kidd respectively. Craig held on to finish just ahead of scratch marker Chris Heywood (Masters title) and a large bunch which included Bronwen Fraser (Womens title).
The junior under 17 grade competed in the Cuddon Marlborough Open 30km event run over 2 laps of the circuit. It was 4 minute markers Daniel Ellison (Nelson) and Cameron Ford (Nelson) who made the early move to break away from their co-markers. The pair picked up 8 minute marker Sam Griffin (Nelson) and proceeded through the field. Ellison rode well for a thirteen second victory over Griffin with another 22 seconds back to Ford in third place. Local scratch marker Callum Saunders stuck to his task to ride in alone in fourth place and took out the Junior under 17 title by 1minute 20 seconds from Ellison.
Open grade- Cuddon Marlborough 80km Open Championship, J Hawke (off scr) 1, J Lee (off scr) 2, B Neylon (off scr) 3, J Kidd (off 6m) 4, D Craig (off 6m) 5, C Heywood (off scr) 6, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 7, M Bruce (off 13m) 8, B Fraser (off 6m) 9, P Newman (off scr) 10. Fastest time, J Hawke (scr) (junior under 19 title) 2hr 04m 06s 1, J Lee (scr) 2hr 04m 07s 2, B Neylon (scr) (Senior Mens title) 2hr 04m 15s 3, C Heywood (scr) (Masters title) 2hr 07m 58s 4, G van Antwerpen (scr) 2hr 08m 20s 5. B Fraser (6m) (Womens title) 2hr 14m 20s 11.
Junior under 17 grade- Cuddon Marlborough 30km Open Championship, D Ellison (off 4m) 1, S Griffin (off 8m) 2, C Ford (off 4m) 3, C Saunders (off scr) 4, W Hart (off 4m) 5. Fastest time, C Saunders (scr) (Junior under 17 title) 48m 13s 1, D Ellison (4m) 49m 33s 2, C Ford (4m) 50m 07s 3.