Smith Superior At Fairhall

Wayne Smith finished well to take line honours in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s open grade event at Fairhall last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 45km handicap event drew a good field, covering a course from Fairhall hall around the large Hawkesbury circuit 3 times and return. On the second lap of Hawkesbury three riders from the 6m 30s group, Mike Murphy, Wayne Smith and Glen Herkt caught the 9 minute markers and continued at good pace to hit the front of the field on the last lap. Seven riders lined up for the final sprint with Smith overhauling Mike McManaway in the latter stages for victory with Murphy taking third from Mary Lister and Herkt. The break trio (off 5m) of Jamie Kidd, Grant Ludemann and Brent Ackroyd rode well to finish just a minute back. A further minute back scratch marker Gerard van Antwerpen sprinted in co-markers Andrew Jamieson, Andrew Curnow and Chris Heywood to take fastest time honours.
The junior under 17 grade massed start event covered one lap of the open course (22km). Callum Saunders and Will Hart rode away from the field with Saunders taking victory over Hart by 2 seconds. Nick Blakiston finished three minutes back for third place. The sealed handicap went to Hart from Saunders and Blakiston.
Open grade- 45km handicap, W Smith (off 6m 30s) 1, M McManaway (off 9m) 2, M Murphy (off 6m 30s) 3, M Lister (off 9m) 4, G Herkt (off 6m 30s) 5, R de Ruiter (off 18m) 6, W Hall (off 9m) 7, J Kidd (off 5m) 8, G Ludemann (off 5m) 9, B Ackroyd (off 5m) 10. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1hr 08m 14s 1, A Jamieson (scr) s.t. 2, A Curnow (off 5m) s.t. 3, C Heywood (scr) 4, J Kidd (5m) 1hr 12m 16s 5.
Junior under 17 grade- 22km massed start,C Saunders 36m 41s 1, W Hart 36m 42s 2, N Blakiston 39m 36s 3, L Landon-Lane 40m 26s 4, S Thomas 44m 55s 5. Sealed handicap, W Hart (30s) 36m 13s 1, C Saunders (scr) 36m 41s 2, N Blakiston (1m) 38m 36s 3, J Thomas (6m) 38m 55s 4, L Landon-Lane (1m) 39m 26s 5.