Rosebowl Up For Grabs

Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s open grade riders will compete in the annual Okaramio to Havelock and return event for the Anderson Rosebowl tomorrow afternoon.
The open grade 35km event is expected to draw a good field with the season winding down to a two month break after next weeks event. Handicaps have been closing up over past weeks with some good team work coming from the middle marks which has seen those groups in the placings. Past winners in contention are Gill Painter (1965, 1969), Graham Henderson (1972), Todd Neal (1999, 2009) and Warren Hall (2003). Fastest time is likely to be fought out between Gerard van Antwerpen, Tony Catterick, Andrew Jamieson and Chris Heywood. Open riders are to assemble at Okaramio Tavern at 1pm for a 1.30pm start.
The junior under 17 grade will compete over 20km for the Keighley Cup. Callum Saunders and Will Hart are the likely candidates for fastest time honours with the handicap wide open. Riders are to assemble approximately 1km into the Northbank road at 1pm for a 1.30pm start.