Curnow Collects Rosebowl

Stuart Curnow out sprinted his co-markers to take a good victory in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Anderson Rosebowl event at Okaramio on Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 35km handicap event from Okaramio to Havelock and return saw riders encounter headwinds on the outward journey which closed up the field considerably for the return journey. The 18m front markers worked well together with 3 riders still left to sprint for line honours. Curnow was to strong and took the trophy from Denis Church and Julie Fry respectively. The 5m break group had a great ride to finish just 29 seconds back with martin Fletcher heading off co-markers Mike Murphy, alan Milne and Glen Herkt. Fastest time went to scratch rider Conway Taylor who out sprinted his co-markers Tony Catterick, Gerard van Antwerpen and Andrew Jamieson. 
The junior under 17 grade competed in a 2okm handicap event on the Northbank road for the Keighley Cup. Strong working by the 3 minute break group saw them ride to victory with Nick Blakiston taking line honours and the cup from Brodie Catterick and Sonya Ginders. Scratch rider Callum Saunders took fastest time from co-marker Will Hart just over a minute back.
Open grade- Anderson Rosebowl 35km handicap, S Curnow (off 18m) 1, D Church (off 18m) 2, J Fry (off 18m) 3, M Fletcher (off 5m) 4, M Murphy (off 5m) 5, A Milne (off 5m) 6, G Herkt (off 5m) 7, W Hall (off 8m) 8, S de Castro (off 18m) 9, C Taylor (off scr) 10. Fastest time, C Taylor (scr) 48m 44s 1, T Catterick (scr) s.t. 2, G van Antwerpen (scr) s.t. 3, A Jamieson (scr) 48m 47s 4, H Wright (Ashburton) (scr) 50m 41s 5.
Junior under 17 grade- Keighley Cup 20km handicap, N Blakiston (off 3m) 1, B Catterick (off 3m) 2, S Ginders (off 3m) 3, C Saunders (off scr) 4, W Hart (off scr) 5. Fastest time, C Saunders (scr) 34m 21s 1, W Hart (scr) 34m 22s 2, N Blakiston (3m) 36m 12s 3.