Taylor & Saunders Do Doubles

Conway Taylor took double honours when he took first place and fastest time in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Van Antwerpen Trophies event from Grovetown on Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 44km handicap event was ridden in cool conditions and covered 3 laps of the Lower Wairau circuits starting and finishing in Vickerman Street, Grovetown. At the halfway mark the strong scratch group had caught the 3min break group and the 6 min group had haled in the 9min group. These two bunches eventually joined up 4kms from home just after the front markers were caught. Scratch rider Brent Harris broke clear with about a kilometre to go with the bunch headed by co-marker Conway Taylor in hot pursuit. Unfortunately a mob of sheep ran onto the road which slowed several riders progress. Taylor prevailed to take both trophies with Harris holding on for second place just ahead of Gerard van Antwerpen (scr), Jamie Kidd (3m) and Chris Heywood (scr).
The junior under 17 grade rode a 24km handicap event over 3 laps of the Dillons Point Swamp Road block for the Amtman and Sincock trophies. Again the scratch riders performed well with Callum Saunders taking the double honours from co-marker Brodie Catterick. Quinn Karwowski from the 1min break mark was 20 seconds back in third place.
Open grade- Van Antwerpen Trophies 44km handicap event, C Taylor (off scr) 1, B Harris (off scr) 2, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 3, J Kidd (off 3m) 4, C Heywood (off scr) 5, A Clark (off 3m) 6, G Herkt (off 6m) 7, M McManaway (off 9m) 8, L Griggs (off 9m) 9, M Murphy (off 6m) 10. Fastest time, C Taylor 64m 10s 1, B Harris 64m 13s 2, G van Antwerpen 64m 14s 3, C Heywood s.t. 4, J Lee 64m 39s 5.
Junior Under 17 grade- Amtman and Sincock Trophies 24km handicap event, C Saunders (off scr) 1, B Catterick (off scr) 2, Q Karwowski (off 1m) 3, N McIntyre (off 1m) 4, P Landon-Lane (off 9m) 5. Fastest time, C Saunders 46m 45s 1, B Catterick s.t. 2, Q Karwowski 48m 06s 3.