Murphy Takes Funnell Trophy In Strong Finish

A strong finishing sprint gave Mike Murphy victory in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Funnell Trophy event at Fairhall last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 41km handicap event started and finished at Fairhall hall, covering two laps of the large Hawkesbury circuit and one lap of the small Hawkesbury circuit. The cool and wet conditions saw bunches working steady with all the action happening in the last 10km. After losing two riders with punctures the remaining trio of the 6m 30s group, Martyn Bruce, Craig Murphy and Mike Murphy gathered in the 8 strong 9m 30s group and were in hot pursuit of the leaders. The scratch markers had also caught the 4m break bunch and were closing in fast. With 2kms to go Lisa McManaway (off 18m) and co-marker Julie Fry were unlucky to be caught. The large sprint home saw a big lead out from Bruce with Murphy taking the honours over Lee Griggs (9m 30s), Bruce, and Mike McManaway (9m 30s). Scratch finished just 30 seconds back with Chris Heywood taking a close one for time honours over Tony Catterick, and Antony Clark (4m).
The junior under 17 grade competed in a 22km massed start event for the James Bros. Trophy, once around the large Hawkesbury circuit and back to Fairhall. Normal scratch rider Callum Saunderswent clear with Nick Blakiston, Quinn Karwowski and Leatham Landon-Lane. These four stayed intact to the end with Saunders dominant for line honours over Karwowski, Blakiston and Landon-Lane. The sealed handicap went to Sam Thomas (7m)by 1 minute to Karwowski (1m 30s) and Blakiston (1m 30s).
Open grade- Funnell Trophy 41km handicap, M Murphy (off 6m 30s) 1, L Griggs (off 9m 30s) 2, M Bruce (off 6m 30s) 3, M McManaway (off 9m 30s) 4, J J Payne (off 9m 30s) 5, R Murphy (off 9m 30s) 6, M Lister (off 9m 30s) 7, G Henderson (off 9m 30s) 8, L McManaway (off 18m) 9, C Murphy (off 6m 30s) 10. Fastest time, C Heywood (scr) 60m 08s 1, T Catterick (scr) s.t. 2, G van Antwerpen (scr) s.t 3, B Harris (scr) s.t. 4, A Clark (4m) 64m 08s 5.
Junior under 17 grade- James Bros. Trophy 22km massed start, C Saunders 36m 10s 1, Q Karwowski 36m 12s 2, N Blakiston s.t. 3, L Landon-Lane s.t. 4, S Thomas 40m 43s 5. Sealed handicap, S Thomas (7m) 33m 43s 1, Q Karwowski (1m 30s) 34m 42s 2, N Blakiston (1m 30s) s.t. 3.