Osgood Cups At Stake

Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s riders will compete in the annual Blenheim to Picton and return event for the Osgood Cups tomorrow afternoon.
The prestigious 54km open grade handicap event was first raced for in 1939 and carries a great array of past winners over the cup’s history. The fastest time trophy is always well sought after with  scratch rider Gerard van Antwerpen having a great record. Van Antwerpen holds the current record of 1hr 14m 30s, set last year, after holding the previous record of 1hr 15m 02s since 1999. His main rivals in a sprint finish will be co-markers Conway Taylor, Tony Catterick, Chris Heywood and Jono Lee. The handicap honours are wide open with the winner likely to come from a group which remains intact throughout the journey.
The junior under 17 grade will compete in a 21km handicap event over 3 laps of the lower Wairau circuit. Callum Saunders and Brodie Catterick will carry on their rivalry for time honours from the scratch mark.
All riders are to assemble at the Blenheim Research Centre at 1pm for a 1.30pm start.