Osgood Cup Victory To Craig Murphy

A strong effort from Craig Murphy gave him a good victory in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Osgood Cups event last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 54km handicap event to Picton and return saw riders encounter headwinds on the outward journey. Great teamwork by the 6 minute break trio of Murphy, Lee Griggs and Mike Murphy saw them haul in the 12 minute markers on the Elevation climb back out of Picton. It was at this stage that Griggs went clear but was caught again by his co-markers and Rhonda Murphy (off 12m) at Koromiko. The quartet hit the front before Tuamarina and were never headed. The sprint for line honours saw Craig Murphy head off Mike Murphy, Griggs and Rhonda Murphy respectively. The fastest time trophy went to scratchmarker Gerard van Antwerpen from co-marker Brent Harris after a good solid partnership.
Open grade- Osgood Cups 54km handicap, C murphy (off 6m) 1, M Murphy (off 6m) 2, L Griggs (off 6m) 3, R Murphy (off 12m) 4, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 5, B Harris (off scr) 6, D Church (off 25m) 7, M Lister (off 12m) 8, R Hill (off 12m) 9, W Hall (off 12m) 10. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1hr 20m 27s 1, B Harris (scr) s.t. 2, C Murphy (6m) 1hr 23m 04s 3, M Murphy (6m) s.t. 4, L Griggs (6m) s.t. 5.