Titles At Stake


Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s riders will face a tough challenge when they compete in the Club Championships on the hilly Seaview course at Seddon tomorrow afternoon.
The open grade 40km massed start event covers 2 laps of the course with 6 championship titles at stake. The Mills Cup for fastest time will be fought out amongst the usual scratch markers with Conway Taylor the likely favourite if it comes down to a sprint finish. The Masters 35-44yr title will see a tough competition between Taylor and Chris Heywood, whilst Tony Catterick, Ray Dunstan and Gerard van Antwerpen will battle for the Masters 45-54yr title. Also likely to be in the front group will be Junior under 19 contender Jono Lee and Senior men prospect Josh Scott. Outside of the top group the  favourites for the Masters 55+ title will be Brent Harris, Ryan Lock and Martin Fletcher, whilst Michelle Catterick and Rhonda Murphy will fight out the Womens title. The Gleeson Challenge Cup will go to the winner of the sealed handicap section.
The junior under 17 grade riders will compete over 1 lap of the course with two championship titles at stake. Brodie Catterick and Callum Saunders will be favourites for the junior under 17 mens title with the junior women’s title likely to go to Sonia Ginders. Fastest time will take the Jowers Cup whilst the Drake Challenge Cup goes to the sealed handicap winner. 
All riders are reminded that to be eligible for the championships you must have had 3 starts this season and club fees to be paid before start of event. Riders are to assemble at the Starborough Tavern at 1pm for a 1.30pm start.