Lee Conquers Seaview Champs

A powerful finish saw Jono Lee snatch victory in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Club Championships at Seaview, Seddon on Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 40km massed start event covered 2 laps of the tough Seaview Road course. With five titles and two trophies at stake, competition on the first climb out of Seddon was fierce. The climb and the windy conditions saw the field split apart with the three top riders, Conway Taylor, Gerard van Antwerpen and Lee, going clear of the chasing groups. The trio increased their lead over the two laps to fight out the final sprint. Taylor lead out strongly but was overhauled, in the last few metres, by Lee who took line honours by half a wheel, with Van Antwerpen a close third. Lee took the Senior Mens title plus the Mills Cup, with Taylor taking the Masters 35-44yrs title and Van Antwerpen the Masters 45-54yrs title. Only two minutes back Mike Murphy and Jeremy McKenzie crossed next with Murphy taking a well deserved handicap win for the Gleeson Challenge Cup. Other titles went to Martin Fletcher (Masters 55yrs+) and Rhonda Murphy (Womens). Mary Lister was second to Murphy on handicap with Rhonda Murphy in third place. 
The junior under 17 grade rode over 1 lap (20km) of the course with Callum Saunders riding away in the final stages to take the Junior Under 17 Men title plus the Jowers Cup. Quinn Karwowski was 9 seconds back in second place with Leatham Landon-Lane another 41 seconds back in third place. Karwowski took the Drake Cup for handicap from Landon-Lane and Saunders.
Open grade- 40km Club Championships, Seaview, Seddon, J Lee 1hr 07m 06s (Senior title) 1, C Taylor s.t. (Masters 35-44yrs title) 2, G van Antwerpen s.t. (Masters 45-54yrs title) 3, M Murphy 1hr 09m 04s 4, J McKenzie 1hr 09m 06s 5, M Fletcher 1hr 15m 39s (Masters 55yrs+ title) 6, C Murphy 1hr 15m 55s 7, R Murphy s.t. (Womens title) 8, M Hawkins 1hr 18m 10s 9, M McManaway 1hr 18m 20s 10. Sealed handicap, M Murphy (4m) 1hr 05m 04s 1, M Lister (13m) 1hr 05m 36s 2, R Murphy (9m) 1hr 06m 55s 3, J Lee (scr) 1hr 07m 06s 4, C Taylor (scr) s.t. 5.
Junior under 17 grade- 20km Club Championships, Seaview, Seddon, C Saunders 35m 23s (Junior U17 Men title) 1, Q Karwowski 35m 32s 2, L Landon-Lane 36m 13s 3. Sealed handicap, Q Karwowski (2m) 33m 32s 1, L Landon-Lane (2m) 34m 13s 2, C Saunders (scr) 35m 23s 3.