Hall Takes Marlborough 80 Win

Masters rider Warren Hall sprinted in to take line honours in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s 80km Open Championship at Fairhall on Saturday afternoon.
The open grade handicap event drew only a small field in the cool and very wet conditions. The event started and finished at Fairhall hall covering  4 laps of a course around the Benmorven circuit, Ridge Resort hill and out to Fromm winery in Godfreys Road and return. After 2 laps the 16 minute group had hit the front and had reduced down to three riders being Hall, Rhonda Murphy and Graham Henderson. The scratch group gained the most ground on the trio in the final lap but it was evident in the latter stages that they weren’t going to be caught. Hall’s strong riding throughout paid off when he took the sprint to the line from Murphy and Henderson. Hall took the C Gibson Challenge Cup and the Savoy Trophy (1st local rider) for his efforts. Scratchmarker Gerard van Antwerpen came in 2 minutes 15 seconds later to head off Jeremy McKenzie and Brent Ackroyd for fastest time, taking the Ray Gibson Challenge Cup and the Masters title. Ackroyd took the Senior Mens title whilst Murphy took the Womens title.
The junior under 17 championship was run as a massed start event over one lap of the open course. Quinn Karwowski, Callum Saunders and Nick Blakiston cleared out from the rest of the field and contested the final sprint. Karwowski continued his good form over the last few races to take line honours and the Junior under 17 title from Blakiston and Saunders. The handicap honours went to Blakiston over Karwowski and Saunders.
Open grade- Cuddon Marlborough Open 80km Championship, W Hall (off 16m) 1, R Murphy (off 16m) 2, G Henderson (off 16m) 3, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 4, J McKenzie (off scr) 5, B Ackroyd (off scr) 6, B Harris (off scr) 7, M Grammer (off scr) 8. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (masters title) 2hr 09m 43s 1, J Mckenzie 2hr 09m 47s 2, B Ackroyd (senior men title) 2hr 09m 51s 3, B Harris 2hr 11m 00s 4, M Grammer 2hr 12m 55s 5.
Junior under 17 grade- Cuddon Marlborough Open 20km Championship, Q Karwowski 34m 05s 1, N Blakiston 34m 06s 2, C Saunders s.t. 3, W Hart 35m 27s 4, M Bicknell 36m 04s 5. Sealed handicap, N Blakistan (15s) 33m 51s 1, Q Karwowski (scr) 34m 05s 2, C Saunders (scr) 34m 06s 3, M Bicknell (1m) 35m 04s 4, W Hart (15s) 35m 12s 5.