Dunstan Retains National TT Title

Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Masters rider Ray Dunstan struck gold in the time trial at the Rabodirect Club Road national Championships in Wanganui last Thursday.
Dunstan riding in the Masters 4 (50-54yr) event over 25km retained his National title with a quick time of 33m 42s, beating his nearest rival by 28 seconds. Junior under 15 rider Georgia Catterick, riding her first Nationals, impressed by being placed 5th in her event over 15km. The road races started on Friday with Tony Catterick having success in the tough Masters 4 event over 66km. After aggressive riding the front group narrowed down to four on the final lap with Catterick taking the Silver medal in the sprint to the line. Dunstan finished 12th in the event. Para C4 cyclist Jamie Kidd also rode in the same event and did enough to take the Gold medal in his section. Georgia Catterick continued her success in the junior under 15 girls road race with an 11th placing. 
Meanwhile, on the local scene the open grade and junior under 17 grade combined for a 40km handicap race in the Waihopai Valley. The riders encountered cool and wet conditions on the course from Grove Mill Winery to just beyond Craiglochart and return. The 7 minute markers Rhonda Murphy, Larry Kendall and Graham Henderson held the front until 12km to go when they were caught by the combined 2m 30s and 4m markers. This group rode strongly to the line to keep the scratch markers at bay. Ten riders lined up for the sprint with junior under 17 rider Callum Saunders (off 2m 30s) taking the victory from co-marker Quinn Karwowski (off 2m 30s), Leatham Landon-Lane (off 4m), Nick Blakiston (off 4m) and Marty Bruce (off 2m 30s). The scratch markers finished 1m 09s back with Gerard van Antwerpen taking time honours from Josh Scott and Jeremy McKenzie. 
Open grade/Junior under 17 grade 40km handicap event, C Saunders (off 2m 30s) 1, Q Karwowski (off 2m 30s) 2, L Landon-Lane (off 4m) 3, N Blakiston (off 4m) 4, M Bruce (off 2m 30s) 5, R Hill (off 4m) 6, L Kendall (off 7m) 7, R Murphy (off 7m) 8, G Henderson (off 7m) 9, G Herkt (off 4m) 10. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 1hr 01m 36s 1, J Scott (off scr) s.t. 2, J McKenzie (off scr) s.t. 3, C Saunders (off 2m 30s) 1hr 02m 55s 4, Q Karwowski (off 2m 30s) s.t. 5.