Hall and Van Antwerpen In Tight Finish For Trophies

Warren Hall and Gerard van Antwerpen took first place and fastest time respectively in the closest finish this season at Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Van Antwerpen Trophies event at Grovetown on Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 44km handicap event drew a good field of 36 riders in the fine and windy conditions. The race started and finished in Vickerman Street, Grovetown, covering 3 laps of the lower Wairau circuit taking in Jones Road, Morgans Road, Swamp Road, Dillons Point Road, and Rowberrys Road. The six handicap groups gradually closed up over the first 2 laps with all the action in the final lap. The 5 minute bunch joined the 8 minute bunch with only 5km to go and then were caught by the 6 remaining scratch riders only 3km from home. This large group of 19 riders picked up the frontrunners Denis Church (off 23m) and co-marker Stuart Cunow with 2km left. A furious sprint developed 400m out with Hall (off 8m) holding out scratch marker Van Antwerpen by just half a wheel, on the line to take victory ahead of Brodie Catterick (scratch), Graham Henderson (8m) and Mike Murphy (5m).
The junior under 17 grade competed in a 24km handicap event for the Amtman Trophy and the Sincock Trophy. Callum Saunders rode a solid race from the scratch mark to take first place and fastest time, a repeat of last years effort. Co-marker Quinn Karwowski took second place just ahead of Nick Blakiston (off 1m 30s) in third place.
Open grade- Van Antwerpen Trophies 44km handicap event, W Hall (off 8m) 1, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 2, B Catterick(off scr) 3, G Henderson (off 8m) 4, M Murphy (off 5m) 5, A Jamieson (off scr) 6, J McKenzie (off scr) 7, L Landon-Lane (off 5m) 8, T Catterick (off scr) 9, G Herkt (off 5m) 10. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1hr 05m 25s 1, B Catterick (scr) s.t. 2, A Jamieson (scr) s.t 3, J McKenzie (scr) s.t. 4, T Catterick (scr) s.t. 5.
Junior under 17 grade- Amtman Trophy and Sincock Trophy 24km handicap event, C Saunders (off scr) 1, Q Karwowski (off scr) 2, N Blakiston (off 1m 30s) 3, W Hart (off 1m 30s) 4, G Catterick (off 4m) 5. Fastest time, C Saunders (scr) 40m 28s 1, Q Karwowski (scr) s.t. 2, N Blakiston (1m 30s) 42m 04s 3.