Three Consecutive Wins For Van Antwerpen?

Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s riders will compete in the annual Blenheim to Picton and return event for the Osgood Cups tomorrow afternoon.
The prestigious 54km open grade handicap event was first raced for in 1939 and carries a great array of past winners over the cup’s history. Riders competing tomorrow to try and repeat previous efforts are Gill Painter (1964, 1969, 1993), Graham Henderson (1971, 1993) and Craig Murphy (2010). The handicap honours are wide open with the winner likely to come from a group which remains intact throughout the journey.
The fastest time trophy is also well sought after with scratch rider Gerard van Antwerpen trying for his third consecutive win. Van Antwerpen holds the current record of 1hr 14m 30s, set in 2009, after holding the previous record of 1hr 15m 02s since 1999. His main rivals in a sprint finish will be co-markers Brodie Catterick, Tony Catterick, Jeremy McKenzie, Ray Dunstan and Josh Scott.
The junior under 17 grade will compete in a 21km handicap event over 3 laps of the lower Wairau circuit.
All riders are to assemble at the Blenheim Research Centre at 1pm for a 1.30pm start.