Van Antwerpen and Petrie Triumph In Osgood Cups

Gerard van Antwerpen chalked up his third consecutive Osgood Cup fastest time win in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s annual Blenheim to Picton and return event last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 54km handicap event saw riders encounter a slight headwind on the outward journey. Most groups stayed intact until the elevation climbs in and out of Picton, with only the 2m 30s break group being caught by the scratch group on the return climb. At Tuamarina the 20 minute front runners, Denis Church, Wayne Palatchie and Stuart Curnow were caught by five of the 10m 30s group. At Spring Creek the 6m 30s group were closing in with the scratch riders not far back with a grandstand finish imminent. The front group just managed to hold on with Andy Petrie (off 10m 30s) taking the handicap trophy in a close sprint from J J Payne (off 10m 30s),
Church (off 20m), Palatchie (off 20m) and Dave Hutchison (off 10m 30s). The scratch riders having caught the 6m 30s group 1km from the finish came home only 24 seconds later. The thirteen rider sprint saw Van Antwerpen in command from co-markers Callum Saunders (junior under 17), Lee Griggs and Paul Newman respectively.
Open grade- Osgood Cups 54km handicap event, A Petrie (off 10m 30s) 1, J J Payne (off 10m 30s) 2, D Church (off 20m) 3, W Palatchie (off 20m) 4, D Hutchison (off 10m 30s) 5, S Curnow (off 20m) 6, R de Ruiter (off 10m 30s) 7, B Oliver (off 10m 30s) 8, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 9, C Saunders (off scr) ( Jun U17) 10. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1hr 18m 49s 1, C Saunders (scr) (JU17) s.t. 2, L Griggs (scr) s.t. 3, P Newman (scr) s.t. 4, A Clark (scr) s.t. 5.