Duff Memorial To Tony Catterick

Masters rider Tony Catterick finished strongly to take victory in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s David Duff Memorial Trophy event at Fairhall on Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 56km massed start event covered a course from Fairhall hall, and around the large Hawkesbury circuit 4 times and return. Even after a reasonably quick start only 11 riders had dropped off the leading bunch of 19 at the commencement of the first lap of Hawkesbury. Over the first two laps there were several unsuccessful breakaways but the big split went on the grind up Hawkesbury Road on the third lap. During the final 20km the leading 8 riders put a gap of 2 minutes 25 seconds on the second group. A tactical sprint finish saw Catterick take line honours by a clear margin to Gerard van Antwerpen with another clear margin to Paul Newman, David Craig, Brodie Catterick, Andrew Jamieson, Antony Clark and Brent Harris. The sealed handicap saw a consecutive race win by newcomer Andy Petrie who rode well to finish in the second bunch in 14th place. The minor handicap placings went to Dave Hansen and Richard Hill respectively.
The Junior under 17 grade competed in a 26km massed start event for the Newport Trophy. Hard riding saw Callum Saunders, Quinn Karwowski and Nick Blakiston ride clear. Saunders took out the final sprint from Karwowski with Blakiston 5 seconds back in third place. Saunders winning time of 38m 46s is in the process of being verified as a new course record. The sealed handicap was close with Blakiston winning over Catterick by just 8 seconds with Saunders back in third place.
Open grade- David Duff Memorial Trophy & Medals 56km Massed Start, T Catterick 1hr 23m 58s 1, G van Antwerpen s.t. 2, P Newman s.t. 3, D Craig s.t. 4, B Catterick s.t. 5, A Jamieson s.t. 6, A Clark s.t. 7, B Harris s.t. 8, L Landon-Lane 1hr 26m 23s 9, T Neal 1hr 26m 25s 10. Sealed handicap, A Petrie(10m) 1hr 16m 30s 1, D Hansen (10m) 1hr 18m 35s 2, R Hill (7m) 1hr 19m 30s 3, M Straker (7m) s.t. 4, D Craig (3m) 1hr 20m 58s 5, P Newman (2m) 1hr 21m 58s 6, A Clark (2m) s.t. 7, T Neal (4m) 1hr 22m 25s 8, G Herkt (4m) s.t. 9, R Murphy (8m) 1hr 22m 30s 10.
Junior Under 17 grade- Newport Trophy 26km Massed Start, C Saunders 38m 46s 1, Q Karwowski s.t. 2, N Blakiston 38m 51s 3, W Hart 44m 38s 4, G Catterick 44m 39s 5. Sealed handicap, N Blakiston (1m 20s) 37m 31s 1, G Catterick (7m) 37m 39s 2, C Saunders (scr) 38m 46s 3, Q Karwowski (scr) s.t. 4, M Bicknell (2m) 42m 39s 5.