Brodie Catterick Takes Club Champs Victory

A great ride saw junior under 19 rider Brodie Catterick take top honours in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Club Championships at Seddon last Saturday afternoon.
The 40km open grade massed start event saw six titles at stake over two laps of the hilly Seaview course. The windy conditions played a big part in the results with eight riders going clear of the field on the first hill only a kilometre from the start. As the race progressed, the long dragging climb back up to Seddon took its toll with only three riders left in the last few kilometres to contest the final sprint. A close finish saw Catterick head off Jeremy McKenzie to take the Mills Cup and the junior under 19 title. McKenzie took the Masters 35-44yrs title with Tony Catterick taking the Masters 45-54yrs title in third place. Another junior under 19 rider Peter Crampton had a strong ride to finish fourth, only 1m 23s down, and won the Gleeson Challenge Cup for the sealed handicap. Other titles went to Josh Scott (Senior Men) who had punctured on the first lap, Martin Fletcher (Masters 55+), and Rhonda Murphy (Women).
The junior under 17 grade 20km massed start event over one lap of the course saw Callum Saunders take his third consecutive title when he rode away from Quinn Karwowski in the last few kilometres to take a clear victory for the Jowers Cup by 1m 39s. Saunders time of 33m 55s was only 10 seconds outside the course record set by Callum Streeter in 2008. Nick Blakiston was well back in third place whilst Georgia Catterick took the junior women under 17 title. Saunders also took the Drake Challenge Cup for the sealed handicap win.
Open grade- Cuddon Cycling Marlborough 40km Club Championships, Seaview, Seddon. B Catterick (Junior U19 title) 1hr 05m 07s 1, J McKenzie (Masters 35-44yrs title) s.t. 2, T Catterick (Masters 45-54yrs title) 1hr 05m 08s 3, P Crampton 1hr 06m 30s 4, G van Antwerpen 1hr 07m 06s 5, s McCloy 1hr 08m 26s 6, J Scott (Senor Mens title) 1hr 09m 48s 7, L Landon-Lane 1hr 10m 28s 8, A Petrie 1hr 13m 13s 9, M Straker 1hr 13m 35s 10, also M Fletcher (Masters 55+ title) 1hr 18m 18s 13, R Murphy (Womens title) 1hr 29m 22s 19. Sealed handicap, P Crampton (3m) 1hr 03m 30s 1, B Catterick (scratch) 1hr 05m 07s 2, J McKenzie (scratch) s.t. 3, T Catterick (scratch) 1hr 05m 08s 4, D Hansen (8m 30s) 1hr 05m 49s 5, A Petrie (7m) 1hr 06m 13s 6, M Straker (7m) 1hr 06m 35s 7, G van Antwerpen (30s) 1hr 06m 36s 8, D Church (22m) 1hr 06m 43s 9, L Landon-Lane (3m 30s) 1hr 06m 58s 10.
Junior under 17 grade- Cuddon Cycling Marlborough 20km club Chapionships, Seaview, Seddon. C Saunders (Junior U17 title) 33m 55s 1, Q Karwowski 35m 34s 2, N Blakiston 40m 31s 3, G Catterick (Junior U17 Womens title) 47m 30s 4. Sealed handicap, C Saunders (scratch) 33m 55s 1, Q Karwowski (scratch) 35m 34s 2, N Blakiston (1m) 39m 31s 3.