Stage Race No2 To Saunders

Junior under 17 rider Callum Saunders had the edge on his rivals to take out both stages of Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Summernite Series, Cycle World Stage Race No2 at Fairhall last Wednesday evening.
The first 12km stage from Wither Hills Winery covered a course from New Renwick Road into Brancott Road, finishing on the hill at the end of the Wrekin Road. Ten riders still remained in the front group until the last kilometre when Saunders edged out Lee Griggs, Quinn Karwowski and Gerard van Antwerpen by 1 second in the sprint to the line. The second and final 14km stage started in Brancott Road, turned in Godfreys Road to finish back at the Wither Hills Winery. The quick speed at the turn saw nine riders go clear on the run home. The long sprint in saw Saunders take a close finish from van Antwerpen and Brent Ackroyd, with Karwowski and Graham Henderson a few seconds back.
The overall result was a win to Saunders by 1 second to van Antwerpen and another 3 seconds to Karwowski in third place. The sealed handicap on the night went to Nick Blakiston (2m) by 10 seconds to Glen Herkt (2m) and just another 1 second to Henderson (2m 15s) in third place.
Summernite Series- Cycle World Stage Race No2, Stage One 12km, C Saunders 16m 02s 1, L Griggs 16m 03s 2, Q Karwowski s.t. 3, G van Antwerpen s.t. 4, B Ackroyd 16m 08s 5, L Landon-Lane s.t. 6, B Verhoef 16m 12s 7, J Kidd 16m 13s 8, N Blakiston 16m 15s 9, G Herkt 16m 19s 10. Stage Two 14km, C Saunders 21m 42s 1, G van Antwerpen s.t. 2, B Ackroyd s.t. 3, Q Karwowski 21m 45s 4, G Henderson 21m 49s 5, L Griggs 21m 52s 6, L Landon-Lane 22m 01s 7, N Blakiston 22m 10s 8, G Herkt 22m 16s 9, M Fletcher 23m 17s 10. Overall classification, C Saunders 37m 44s 1, G van Antwerpen 37m 45s 2, Q Karwowski 37m 48s 3, B Ackroyd 37m 50s 4, L Griggs 37m 55s 5, L Landon-Lane 38m 09s 6, N Blakiston 38m 25s 7, G Herkt 38m 35s 8, G Henderson 38m 51s 9, B Verhoef 39m 29s 10. Overall handicap classification, N Blakiston (2m) 36m 25s 1, G Herkt (2m) 36m 35s 2, G Henderson (2m 15s) 36m 36s 3, B Ackroyd (1m) 36m 50s 4, J Kidd (2m 30s) 37m 00s 5, L Landon-Lane (1m) 37m 09s 6, B Verhoef (2m 15s) 37m 14s 7, Q Karwowski (30s) 37m 18s 8, G Bateman (2m 30s) 37m 24s 9, C Saunders (5s) 37m 39s 10.