Close Competition For Troubador Trophy and Ray Squire Memorial Cup

Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s riders will compete in massed start events for the Troubador Trophies and the Ray Squire Memorial Cup on the Rapaura tomorrow afternoon.
The open grade 70km event covers six laps of a flat circuit including Hammerichs road, Old Renwick Road, O’Dwyers Road and Rapaura Road. Amongst the favourites to take the fastest time trophy are Gerard van Antwerpen, Tony Catterick, Jeremy McKenzie and youngsters Brodie Catterick, Callum Saunders and Peter Crampton. A frantic pace early in the first couple of laps usually splits the field with other riders grouping together, vying for the handicap trophy. The junior under 17 grade will compete over 3 laps of the course.
All riders are to assemble at the Rapaura Hall at 1pm for a 1.30pm start.