Saunders and Landon-Lane Victorious At Rapaura

Junior under 19 rider Callum Saunders won a tight sprint to claim the Ray Squire Memorial Cup in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Troubador Trophy event at Rapaura last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 66km massed start event covered 6 laps of the Hammerichs Road, Old Renwick Road, O’Dwyers Road, Rapaura Road circuit. A fast pace and general tactics by the top riders saw the front group weeded down to 8 riders after two laps. Several breakaway attempts over the final laps failed with 7 riders lining up for the final sprint. With 200m to go Saunders hammered it into the last corner to hold off Leatham Landon-Lane and Gerard van Antwerpen to take line honours. Jeremy McKenzie, Glen Herkt, Andrew Jamieson and Josh Scott took the next places respectively. The Troubador Trophy for the sealed handicap deservedly went to Landon-Lane (off 3m) with a strong ride from Herkt (off 3m) and Scott (off 1m 30s). The junior under 17 grade Troubador Trophy (33km) went to Quinn Karwowski.
Open grade- Troubador Trophy/Ray Squire Memorial Cup, C Saunders 1hr 41m 00s 1, L Landon-Lane s.t. 2, G van Antwerpen s.t. 3, J McKenzie s.t. 4, G Herkt s.t. 5, A Jamieson s.t. 6, J Scott s.t. 7, N Blakiston 1hr 45m 31s 8, M Cameron (Nelson) 1hr 48m 25s 9, M Fletcher s.t. 10. Sealed handicap, L Landon-Lane (3m) 1hr 38m 00s 1, G Herkt (3m) s.t. 2, J Scott (1m 30s) 1hr 39m 30s 3, C Saunders (scr) 1hr 41m 00s 4, G van Antwerpen s.t. 5.