Hart and Woods Take Good Wins

Junior under 19 rider Will Hart rode a strong race to take line honours in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s open grade handicap event at Fairhall last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 40km handicap event started and finished at Fairhall hall taking in one lap of the Benmorven circuit and two laps of the large Hawkesbury circuit. During the first lap of Hawkesbury the 9 minute markers hit the front of the field whilst the strong scratch and break groups closed in. The final lap of Hawkesbury saw Hart (off 9min) and junior under 17 co-marker Georgia Catterick go clear in their bid for line honours. The scratch group caught the 2min 30s break group with 7km to go and were in hot pursuit. The leading pair dug deep with Hart taking victory by 3 seconds from Catterick. Just 45 seconds back fourteen riders lined up for the sprint to the line with scratch rider Gerard van Antwerpen taking a confident third place and fastest time honours from Callum Saunders (scr), Quinn Karwowski (2m 30s), Brodie Catterick (scr), and Andrew Jamieson (scr) respectively.
The junior under 17 grade competed in a 13km handicap event out to Godfreys Road and return. Front marker Shaun Woods (off 6m) rode a fine solo effort to keep the rest of the field at bay to take line honours by 34 seconds to his nearest rival. Scratch rider Thomas Westend produced another strong ride to take second place just ahead of the 4 minute markers Bryce Blackmore, Belle Saunders and Maygen Cohen respectively.
Open grade- 40km handicap, W Hart (off 9m) 1, G Catterick (off 9m) 2, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 3, C Saunders (off scr) 4, Q Karwowski (off 2m 30s) 5, B Catterick (off scr) 6, A Jamieson (off scr) 7, P Crampton (off scr) 8, C Anderson (off 2m 30s) 9, M Murphy (off 2m 30s) 10. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (scr) 57m 45s 1, C Saunders (scr) s.t. 2, B Catterick (scr) s.t. 3, A Jamieson (scr) s.t. 4, P Crampton (scr) s.t. 5.
Junior under 17 grade- 13km handicap, S Woods (off 6m) 1, T Westend (off scr) 2, B Blackmore (off 4m) 3, B Saunders (off 4m) 4, M Cohen (off 4m) 5, C Caughey (off scr) 6, C Grammer (off 1m) 7, L Smith (off 1m) 8, E Brydon (off scr) 9, H Trollope (off 1m) 10. Fastest time, T Westend (scr) 21m 38s 1, C Caughey (scr) 21m 54s 2, E Brydon (scr) 22m 53s 3, C Grammer (1m) 22m 56s 4, L Smith (1m) 23m 23s 5.