Double For Blakiston

Junior under 19 rider Nick Blakiston continued his recent good form to secure first place and fastest time in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s James Palatchie Memorial Cup event last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 45km handicap event’s traditional course over the Weld Pass into the Awatere Valley and return was changed due to roadworks. The event was ridden on a rolling Taylor Pass Road course over 47km. The three out and return trips certainly tested the riders in the slight windy conditions. The big mover in the second lap was Blakiston (off 1min) when he broke away from his co-markers and caught the 3 minute group who in turn pulled in the 7 minute group with one lap to go. This group of 11 riders whittled down to 8 riders sprinting for line honours. Blakiston was to quick for his rivals to win just clear of Matt Straker (off 3min), Graham Henderson (off 7min), Martin Fletcher (off 3min) and Rhonda Murphy (off 7min) respectively. Blakiston took time honours by 1min 30sec from his co-markers Kevin Bishell and Glen Herkt, with lone scratch marker Gerard van Antwerpen being a further 9 sec down.
The junior under 17 grade rode in a 24km handicap event, out and back twice on the same course for the Palatchie Cup. It was newcomer James Greer (off 16min) who stuck to his task to win by a large margin. A great ride from scratch rider Thomas Westend saw him go through the rest of the field for second place and fastest time honours. Greer’s co-marker Sam Morgan held on for third place.
Open grade- James Palatchie Memorial Cup 47km handicap, N Blakiston (off 1min) 1, M Straker (off 3min) 2, G Henderson (off 7min) 3, M Fletcher (off 3min) 4, R Murphy (off 7min) 5, D Grono (off 3min) 6, C Anderson (off 3 min) 7, A Gifford (off 7min) 8, D Hutchison (off 7min) 9, S Rooney (off 7min) 10. Fastest time, N Blakiston (1 min) 1hr 12m 40s 1, K Bishell (1min) 1hr 14m 10s 2, G Herkt (1min) s.t. 3, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1hr 14m 19s 4, M Straker (off 3m) 1hr 14m 4os.
Junior under 17 grade- Palatchie Cup 24km handicap, J Greer (off 16m) 1, T Westend (off scr) 2, S Morgan (off 16m) 3, B Blackmore (off 8min) 4, N van Antwerpen (off 8min) 5. Fastest time, T Westend (scr) 43m 08s 1, E Brydon (scr) 46m 05s 2, J Ritchie (1m 30s) 47m 21s 3.