Tasman Wheelers Take Shield Lead In Round One

Tasman Wheelers dominated the first round of the H G Hunter Memorial Shield
in the Nelson Open 80km Championship event in Nelson on Saturday afternoon.
The open grade handicap event covered a tough course from the Nelson
clubrooms in Redwood Valley over the Moutere hill, through Upper Moutere,
across to Ngatimoti, Woodstock, Dovedale, Neudorf Road and return. The hilly
course certainly took its toll on the front to middle markers in the 70
strong field. Approximately 50km into the race the 12 minute group had hit
the front and had swelled to eighteen riders. Unfortunately their time was
limited when the scratch group mowed them down on the climb over the Neudorf
hill. Six riders went clear which was reduced to five on the Moutere hill climb when former Marlborough rider Robin Reid (TW) had a mechanical failure.
A close sprint to the line saw just centimetres separating the first three riders, with Daniel Ellison (TW) taking the honours from club mates Chris Nicholson and Kristoff Ford. Cameron Ford (TW) and Peter Crampton (CCM) took fourth and fifth places respectively. Marlborough riders Callum Saunders and Gerard van Antwerpen led in the next chasing group 1m 25s later. Other Marlborough riders to get into the points were Martin Fletcher (16th), Brodie Catterick (18th) and Matt Straker (20th).
The points after the first round of the H G Hunter Memorial Shield stand at Tasman Wheelers 156, Cuddon Cycling Marlborough 54, Cycling Nelson 0.
Open Grade- H G Hunter Memorial Interclub Shield, Round One, Nelson 80km Open Championships, D Ellison (TW) off scratch 1, C Nicholson (TW) off scratch 2, K Ford (TW) off scratch 3, C Ford (TW) off 5min 4, P Crampton (CCM) off scratch 5, C Saunders (CCM) off 9m 6, G van Antwerpen (CCM) off 5m 7, R Searle (TW) off scratch 8, K Fulton (TW) off 5m 9, B Grant (TW) off 5m 10, D Bremner (TW) off 5m 11, E Wylde (TW) off 9m 12, A MacDonald (TW) off 5m 13, B Herron (TW) off 5m 14, H Jaine (TW) off 5m 15m, M Fletcher (CCM) off 12m 16, K Murdoch (TW) off 12m 17, B Catterick (CCM) off scratch 18, T Miller (TW) off 12m 19, M Straker (CCM) off 12m 20. Fastest Time, D Ellison (Scr) 2hr 01m 05s 1, C Nicholson (Scr) s.t 2, K Ford (Scr) s.t. 3, P Crampton (Scr) s.t. 4, R Searle (Scr) 2hr 02m 32s 5.