Robin Reid Takes Double Honours In 8okm Championship

Former Marlburian Robin Reid was elated to take first place and fastest time in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Open 80km Championship at Fairhall last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade handicap event was raced in wet weather covering four laps of the Benmorven, Ridge Resort, Godfreys Road course. As the race progressed several groups split on the Ridge climb on the third lap. The seven man scratch group were reduced to three when Reid (Tasman Wheelers), clubmate Matt Black and Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Callum Saunders went in search of victory. On the final climb at the Ridge the leading group of seven riders were caught by the scratch trio who then rode away approximately eight kilometres from home. Saunders went off in the final stages with Reid taking a good victory over Black in the sprint to the line. Saunders headed in the chasing bunch for third place just ahead of Ritchie Howes (TW) and Kevin Bishell (CCM). The Championship titles went to Reid (Senior Men), Black (Junior Under 19 Men), Gerard van Antwerpen (Masters), and Michelle Catterick (Women). The event also doubled as a final interclub for the H G Hunter Memorial Shield which went to Tasman Wheelers 271pts to Cuddon Cycling Marlborough 149pts.
The junior under 17 grade 30km Championship was competed for over three laps of the Benmorven circuit. Frontmarkers Sam Spencer and James Greer worked well together making the most of their 12 minute handicap. The pair were never headed with Spencer taking line honours over Greer. The rest of the field finished in a group with scratch rider Callum Caughey taking third place and the Junior Mens title just ahead of clubmate Jack Ritchie. Dagmar van Antwerpen took the Junior Womens title. The Picton Shield was retained by Marlborough.
Open Grade- Cuddon Cycling Marlborough 80km Open Championship, R Reid (Tasman Wheelers) off scratch 1, M Black (TW) off scratch 2, C Saunders (Cuddon Cycling Marlborough) off scratch 3, R Howes (TW) off 8m 4, K Bishell (CCM) off 8m 5, G Black (TW) off 8m 6, M Catterick (TW) off 8m 7, G Catterick (CCM) off 16m 8, M Fletcher (CCM) off 8m 9, G Overend (TW) off 8m 10. Fastest time, R Reid (scr) 1hr 57m 48s 1, M Black (scr) s.t. 2, C Saunders (scr) 1hr 58m 21s 3, G van Antwerpen (scr) (CCM) 2hrs 04m 55s 4, B Herron (7m) (TW) 2hrs 05m 21s 5. Fastest Woman, M Catterick (8m) 2hrs 06m 21s. H G Hunter Memorial Interclub Shield Tasman Wheelers 115pt, Cuddon Cycling Marlborough 95pt. After final round, Tasman Wheelers 271pt, Cuddon Cycling Marlborough 149pt.
Junior Under 17 Grade- Cuddon Cycling Marlborough 30km Open Championship, S Spencer (off 12m) 1, J Greer (off 12m) 2, C Caughey (off scr) 3, J Ritchie (off scr) 4, B Blackmore (off 6m) 5. Fastest time, C Caughey (scr) 53m 17s 1, J Ritchie (scr) 53m 18s 2, D van Antwerpen (4m) 57m 24s 3.