Joe Blakiston Takes Anderson Rosebowl

Hot conditions with little wind favoured the front handicap markers  when Joe Blakiston won Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Anderson Rosebowl on Saturday afternoon at Okaramio.
The open grade 35km handicap event covered a rolling course to Havelock and return. Even with a slight head wind on the outward journey it was obvious at the turn that the 16min front pair Blakiston and Merrick Thompson weren’t going to be caught. The pair combined well with Blakiston taking the line honours and trophy. The sprint for third place between the 10min markers saw Marty Bruce head off Graham Henderson and Andrew Gifford. The fastest time honours went to scratch markers Tony Catterick and Gerard van Antwerpen respectively by a mere 21 seconds over the large 3min group who took time off the 2min markers by 5 seconds.
The 16km junior under 17 grade handicap event for the Keighley Cup was raced for on the Taylor Pass course. The 2min break group were dominant in travelling through the field with Hugh Trollope taking the sprint for victory over Zac Mortimer, Jack Ritchie and Ethan Brydon.  Lone scratchman Thomas Westend rode strongly for fastest time honours by 34 seconds.
Meanwhile the previous week was the opening of Saturday racing on the Lower Wairau circuit. The open grade 35km handicap event saw the scratchmarkers cruise through the field to hit the front just 1 kilometre from the finish with Van Antwerpen prevailing over Nick Blakiston (2min), Brodie Catterick and Nick Batt. The junior under 17 21km event saw scratch marker Westend sprint in 3min markers Trollope, Ritchie and Callum Caughey.
Open grade- Anderson Rosebowl 35km hcp, J Blakiston (16m) 1, M Thompson (16m) 2, M Bruce (10m) 3, G Henderson (10m) 4, A Gifford (10m) 5, D Hutchison (10m) 6, G Ludemann (10m) 7, C Anderson (3m) 8, T Burfitt (3m) 9, S Rooney (3m) 10. Fastest time, T Catterick (scr) 49m 30s 1, G van Antwerpen (scr) s.t. 2, C Anderson (3m) 49m 51s 3, T Burfitt (3m) s.t. 4, S Rooney s.t. 5.
Junior under 17 grade- Keighley Cup 16km, H Trollope (2m) 1, Z Mortimer (2m) 2, J Ritchie (2m) 3, E Brydon (2m) 4, T Westend (scr) 5. Fastest time, T Westend (scr) 28m 18s 1, H Trollope (2m) 28m 52s 2, Z Mortimer 28m 53s 3.
9th February-
Open grade- 35km group handicap, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1, N Blakiston (2m) 2, B Catterick (scr) 3, N Batt (scr) 4, K Marshall (7m) 5, D Hutchison (7m) 6, F Marfell (7m) 7, D Vile (2m) 8, T Neal (2m) 9, M Murphy (2m) 10. Fastest time G van Antwerpen (scr) 51m 50s 1, B Catterick (scr) s.t. 2, N Batt (scr) 51m 55s 3.
Junior under 17 grade- 21km handicap, T Westend (scr) 1, H Trollope (2m) 2, J Ritchie (2m) 3, C Caughey (2m) 4, E Wells (7m) 5. Fastest time, T Westend (scr) 35m 24s 1, E Brydon (scr) 37m 35s 2, H Trollope (2m) 38m 26s 3.