Van Antwerpens Take Pelorus Cups

Gerard van Antwerpen produced a strong finish to take first place and fastest time in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Pelorus Cup event from Renwick last Saturday afternoon.
The 60km handicap event was held on an out and return course on the Wairau Valley road taking in the Delta Lake hill climb on the outward journey. The small field rode in wet conditions with the four strong scratch group of Brody Catterick, Paul Newman, Dylan Vile and Van antwerpen pulling in the 5min break group before the turn. Rhonda Murphy and Mike Murphy off 10min were unlucky to be hauled in by scratch just a kilometre from the finish. Van Antwerpen took line honours from Catterick, Ethan Batt (off 5min), Newman and Vile.
The junior under 17 grade rode a 26km handicap event for the Pelorus Cup, also on an out and return course. The 14min and 17min markers joined on the outward journey and worked well together to keep ahead of the strong 1min break group and lone scratch rider Thomas Westend. The sprint home saw Niels van Antwerpen (off 14m) take the win from co-marker Shaun Woods, Sam Morgan (off 17m) and Sam Spencer (off 17m). Fastest time honours went to Westend by just 10 seconds from the five strong break group of Callum Caughey, Ethan Brydon, Christopher Grammer, Jack Ritchie and Zac Mortimer. It was a great effort by Westend to hang onto the fastest time after he managed to get within 15 seconds of this group on the outward journey.
Tomorrow afternoon riders will compete in handicap events at Fairhall. The open grade will complete 2 laps of the Benmorven circuit, Ridge Resort, Godfreys Road course, whilst the under 17 grade will complete 1 lap. All riders are to assemble at Fairhall hall at 1pm for a 1.30pm start.
Open grade- Pelorus Cup, 60km handicap, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 1, B Catterick (off scr) 2, E Batt (off 5m) 3, P Newman (off scr) 4, D Vile (off scr) 5, R Murphy (off 10m) 6, M Murphy (off 10m) 7, A Gifford (off 5m) 8, B Verhoef (off 5m) 9. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1hr 34m 37s 1, B Catterick (scr) 1hr 34m 39s 2, P Newman (scr) s.t. 3.
Junior Under 17 grade- Pelorus Cup, 26km handicap, N van Antwerpen (off 14m) 1, S Woods (off 14m) 2, S Morgan (off 17m) 3, S Spencer (off 17m) 4, C Caughey (off 1m) 5, E Brydon (off 1m) 6, C Grammer (off 1m) 7, J Ritchie (off 1m) 8, Z Mortimer (off 1m) 9, T Westend (off scr) 10. Fastest time, T Westend (scr) 44m 20s 1, C Caughey (1m) 44m 30s 2, E Brydon (1m) 44m 31s 3.