Dylan Vile Sprint To Fastest Time in Troubador Trophy

Junior under 19 rider Dylan Vile was in good form, to outsprint his older rivals, in winning the Ray Squire Memorial Cup in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Troubador Trophy event at Rapaura last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 66km massed start event was run over 6 laps of the Rapaura circuit, taking in Hamerichs Road, Old Renwick Road, Thomsons Ford Road, O’Dwyers Road and Rapaura Road. The event started off at a furious pace with attempted breaks over the first few laps coming to nothing. Eventually 10 riders were still in contention on the final lap. In the final sprint to the line Vile just managed to hold out Gerard van Antwerpen for the win with Tony Catterick heading the rest a few metres back in third place. The Troubador Trophy for sealed handicap went to Andrew Gifford (off 6m) from Kim Marshall (6m) who were placed 7th and 8th respectively. Vile took third place on handicap.
The junior under 17 grade rode over 3 laps (33km) of the open circuit. The field split up early with Thomas Westend, Ethan Brydon and Christopher Grammer going clear. With one lap remaining the front three had separated with Westend clearing out to win by 53 seconds from a great effort by Grammer for second place. Brydon finished a further 1m 19s back in third place. Good solid riding and teamwork saw Niels van Antwerpen (off 15m) take the Troubador Trophy for sealed handicap by 3 seconds from Joseph Westend (off 15m) and another 7 seconds to Shaun Woods (off 15m) in third place.
Tomorrow, Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s riders will compete in handicap events on the Waihopai Valley Road. All riders are to assemble at 1pm for a 1.30pm start, opposite the Grove Mill Winery.
Open grade- Ray Squire Memorial Cup/Troubador Trophy 66km, D Vile 1hr 41m 00s 1, G van Antwerpen s.t. 2, T Catterick s.t. 3, A Jamieson s.t. 4, B Harris s.t. 5, P Newman s.t. 6, A Gifford s.t. 7, K Marshall s.t. 8, R Dunstan s.t. 9, J Scott 1hr 41m 02s 10. Sealed handicap, A Gifford (off 6m) 1hr 35m 00s 1, K Marshall (off 6m) s.t. 2, D Vile (off scr) 1hr 41m 00s 3, G van Antwerpen (off scr) s.t. 4, T Catterick (off scr) s.t. 5.
Junior under 17 grade- Troubador Trophy 33km, T Westend 58m 44s 1, C Grammer 59m 37s 2, E Brydon 60m 56s 3, Z Mortimer 62m 47s 4, C Caughey 64m 05s 5. Sealed handicap, N van Antwerpen (off 15m) 53m 39s 1, J Westend (off 15m) 53m 42s 2, S Woods (off 15m) 53m 49s, C Grammer (off 5m) 54m 37s 4, S Spencer (off 20m) 55m 30s 5.