Van Antwerpen Chasing 5th Consecutive Osgood Cup Win

Gerard van Antwerpen will be chasing a unique fifth consecutive fastest time in the Osgood Cups event in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Fairweathers Winter series  tomorrow afternoon.
The open grade 54km handicap event from Blenheim to Picton and return was first raced for in 1939 and carries a great array of past winners over the events history. The handicap honours are wide open with the winner likely to come from a group that has remained fairly intact over the Elevation climbs in and out of Picton. The fastest time trophy will be fought out between van Antwerpen, and fellow scratch riders Dylan Vile, Jeremy McKenzie, Sean O’Neill, Andrew Jamieson, Ray Dunstan and Nick Batt. Van Antwerpen holds the current record of 1hr 14m 30s, set in 2009, after holding the previous record of 1hr 15m 02s since 1999. The junior under 17 grade will compete in a 28km handicap event over 4 laps of the Vickerman Street, Swamp Road, Morgans Road, Jones Road circuit. Thomas Westend will be favoured for fastest time but will expect a challenge from Callum Caughey and Christopher Grammer.  All riders are to assemble at the Rowley Crescent corner at 1pm for a 1.30pm start.