Fifth Consecutive Osgood Cup Time Trophy To Van Antwerpen

Gerard van Antwerpen created a unique record when he won the Osgood Cup fastest time trophy for the fifth consecutive time at Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Fairweathers Winter series event last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 54km handicap event has been raced on the Blenheim to Picton and return route since 1939. The riders tackled a head wind on the journey through to Picton before they hit the two Elevation climbs. Larry Kendall (off 11m) and co-markers Alan Milne and Ben Verhoef rode clear and rode strongly over the hills to forge a good lead on their chasing rivals. The 5m and 7m groups combined at Koromiko and later were caught by scratchmarkers Van Antwerpen, Sean O’Neill and Luc Cowley just after Tuamarina. The front three didn’t falter with Kendall taking a clear victory for the handicap trophy from Verhoef and Milne. One minute twenty seconds later Van Antwerpen secured the time honours from O’Nell and Cowley.
The junior under 17 grade competed in a 28km handicap event over 4 laps of a Lower Wairau circuit. Scratchmarker Ethan Batt was the star in ploughing through the field to take first place and fastest time honours. The minor placings were taken out by 3 minute markers Callum Caughey, Jack Ritchie and Christopher Grammer.
Open grade- Fairweathers Winter series, Osgood Cups 54km handicap, L Kendall (off 11m) 1, B Verhoef (off 11m) 2, A Milne (off 11m) 3, G van Antwerpen (scr) 4, S O’Neill (scr) 5, L Cowley (scr) 6, T Neal (off 7m) 7, R Murphy (off 7m) 8, M Fletcher (off 5m) 9, M Power (off 7m) 10. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1hr 16m 59s 1, S O’Neill (scr) 1hr 17m 02s 2, L Cowley (scr) s.t. 3, M Fletcher (5m) 1hr 22m 27s 4, M Murphy (5m) s.t. 5.
Junior Under 17 grade- 28km handicap, E Batt (off scr) 1, C Caughey (off 3m) 2, J Ritchie (off 3m) 3, C Grammer (off 3m) 4, S Woods (off 10m) 5. Fastest time, E Batt (scr) 53m 58s 1, C Caughey (3m) 58m 42s, J Ritchie (3m) 58m 49s 3.