Blakiston & Van Antwerpen Victors At Lower Wairau

A strong sprint home saw Nick Blakiston take the Van Antwerpen handicap trophy in Cuddon Cycling Marlboroughs Fairweathers Winter series event at Grovetown last Saturday afternoon.
The open grade 44km handicap event was ridden over 3 laps of a lower Wairau circuit in very windy conditions. The winds took a toll on many of the riders with the field closing up in the final lap. A top ride by 4 minute break riders Ethan Batt, Brent Ackroyd and Kevin Bishell saw them pull in the hard working 6 minute markers Rhonda Murphy, Georgia Catterick, Michelle Catterick, Mark Power and Blakiston. The sprint home saw Blakiston a clear winner, with Bishell just edging out Ackroyd for second ahead of Murphy and Georgia Catterick. Just one minute back the five remaining scratch markers sprinted in for the fastest time trophy with Gerard van Antwerpen taking the honours from Tony Catterick, Ray Dunstan, Andrew Jamieson and Callum Saunders respectively.
The junior under 17 grade handicap event was ridden over 24km for the Amtman and Sincock trophies. Scratch rider Thomas Westend was in fine form to ride right through the entire field to take a well deserved first place. The minor placings went to lone 5 minute marker Ezra Wells who finished just 6 seconds back for second place with another 13 seconds to Jack Ritchie (off 3 min) and Sam Morgan (off 7 min) respectively.  Westend took time by almost 3 minutes to Callum Caughey (off 1min) and another 26 seconds to Ritchie.
Open grade- Fairweathers Winter series, Van Antwerpen Trophies 43km handicap, N Blakistan (off 6m) 1, K Bishell (off 4m) 2, B Ackroyd (off 4m) 3, R Murphy (off 6m) 4, G Catterick (off 6m) 5, E Batt (off 4m) 6, M Catterick (off 6m) 7, B Verhoef (off 9m) 8, M Power (off 6m) 9, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 10. Fastest time, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1hr 07m 54s 1, T Catterick (scr) s.t. 2, R Dunstan (scr) 1hr 08m 00s 3, A Jamieson (scr) 1hr 08m 01s 4, C Saunders (scr) 1hr 08m 02s 5.
Junior under 17 grade- Amtman and Sincock Trophies 24km handicap, T Westend (off scr) 1, E Wells (off 5m) 2, J Ritchie (off 3m) 3, S Morgan (off 7m) 4, E Brydon (off 3m) 5, N van Antwerpen (off 7m) 6, J Greer (off 7m) 7, F Greer (off 13m) 8, S Batt (off 13m) 9, J Westend (off 7m) 10. Fastest time, T Westend (scr) 42m 07s 1, C Caughey (1m) 45m 00s 2, J Ritchie (3m) 45m 26s 3, C Grammer (1m) 45m 33s 4, E Brydon (3m) 45m 58s 5.