Funnell Trophy and James Bros Cup

Race 5 of Cuddon Cycling Marlborough’s Fairweathers Winter series was held last weekend with the Funnell Trophy and James Bros Cup up for grabs in the handicap format event based at Fairhall/Hawkesbury. Again, fantastic conditions were the order of the day with just a light breeze keeping riders honest on the downhill leg of the Hawkesbury circuit. A short hill climb up Barracks Road on each lap of the circuit also made life difficult for those riders who had been caught by the faster bunches to hang-on. The Long Race included two laps of the circuit while the Short Race included one lap.
In the Long Race the front markers (off 14m) rode well as a group and a strong group of three broke away in the last half of the race staying clear of the chasing groups to take the honours. Warren Hall carried on his recent good form to win the Funnell Trophy from David Hutcheson and Sam Durrant.

Less than a minute behind, the large break group (off 4m30s) saw a powerful sprint finish from Hugh Trollope to take fourth placing. The scratch group finished a further 1m26s adrift but still took fastest time honours by some 3 minutes. Tony Catterick pushed the scratch group hard in the final kilometre and held off to take a well deserved win.

The Short Race saw the front markers (off 15m) ride well to finish some 3 minutes clear of the next finisher. Sam Spencer sprinted in this small group to take line honours ahead of Hannah Morgan and Lucy Trollope. Fastest time and the James Bros Cup was claimed by lone scratch rider Callum Caughey with a superb solo effort.


Long Course – Fairweathers Winter series, Funnell Trophy, 48km hcp, W Hall (off 14m) 1, D Hutcheson (off 14m) 2, S Durrant (off 14m) 3, H Trollope (off 4m30s) 4, G Herkt (off 4m30s) 5, E Gordon (off 4m30s) 6, M Murphy (off 4m30s) 7, D Craig (off 4m30s) 8, M Gammie-Catterick (off 4m30s) 9, K Marshall (off 4m30s) 10. Fastest time, T Catterick (scr) 1hr07m26s 1, G van Antwerpen (scr) s.t. 2, L Cowley (scr) s.t. 3, C Harper (scr) s.t. 4, J Scott (scr) s.t. 5.

Short Course – Fairweathers Winter series, including James Bros Cup for JU17, 27km hcp, S Spencer (15m) 1, H Morgan (15m) 2, L Trollope (15m) 3, B Lucas (15m) 4, C Caughey (scr) 5. Fastest time, C Caughey (scr) 43m41s 1, S Woods (1m30s) 46m22s 2, S Morgan (1m30s) 46m23s 3, S Batt (9m) 53m40s 4, A Straker (9m) 54m05s 5.

This Saturday 16th August, the Fairweathers Winter series will continue with riders competing on the Rarangi/Tuamarina Circuit with a graded format. Registration is at 1PM on Neal Road close to Isobel Place. This flat circuit race will suit the sprinters if the wind does not play a part.