Road Race 9th June

A 43km handicap event was run in windy conditions over 6 laps of the Lower Wairau circuit.  The scratch trio of Craig Harper, Gerard van Antwerpen and Sean O’Neill worked extremely well together to catch the 5min break bunch on lap 4 and then hit the front of the field at the end of lap 5. A strong sprint home saw Harper (scr) take line honours from van Antwerpen (scr) and Merrick Thompson (5m), followed by Andrew Gifford (5m) and O’Neill (scr). Fastest time of 64m52 was recorded by Harper.