Hawkesbury/Barracks Results 23/06/2018

A 40km handicap event was run in beautiful conditions from Dog Point Road, 3.5 x the top Hawkesbury circuit, over the Barracks hill and returned via Hawkesbury Road to finish back at the start. Frontmarkers Bruce Moran and Graham Henderson hung on well to be caught by the strong 6min break group coming off the Barracks hill. This strong group had gone through the rest of the field to keeping the scratch riders at bay and lined up in the sprint for line honours. Niels van Antwerpen took the victory from co-markers Dylan Hodson, Merrick Thompson, Ian Martella and Craig Anderson (off 10m).   The scratch group of Craig Harper, Jeremy McKenzie, Gerard van Antwerpen and Sean O’Neill worked well together to finish about 1m30s from the front. Harper easily took time honours in the sprint home from McKenzie and O’Niell.
Results: 40km Hcp- N van Antwerpen (6m) 1, D Hodson (6m) 2, M Thompson (6m) 3, I Martella (6m) 4, C Anderson (10m) 5. Fastest Time- C Harper (scr) 57m09s 1, J McKenzie (scr) 57m13s 2, S O’Neill (scr) 57m15s 3.