Fantastic Start to Winter Season

What an amazing day we all had for the start of the Winter season at Fairhall on Saturday afternoon.
The event was also treated as a fundraiser  for Kevin Bishell, one of our long standing riders for Cycling Marlborough, who is currently going through cancer treatment.  The support for our ‘Bike for Bish’ event saw 38 riders compete on the day, plus many supporters attending.  There was a buzz at prize giving with many former riders getting reacquainted  and chit chat regarding the race,
The great effort by everyone saw us raise $1000 for Bish.
This was made up as follows: $345.00 (Race Fees), $281.00 (Donations), $374.00 (Club Top-Up).
Thanks again everyone for your fantastic support. The funds will be passed on to Kevin this week.

Vincent Shield & Opening Day Cup (14th July)
The Open grade competed in a 36km handicap event covering 4 laps of the Benmorven circuit for the Vincent Shield. The good conditions saw the middle to front handicap groups riding well. The 13m30s group pulled in the 15m group in the second lap and were joined by the strong  10m group at the end of the third lap. Fourteen riders lined up for the sprint home with Kevin Bishell  (off 10m) producing a strong finish to take line honours just over a length clear of Robin Dunn (10m) and Graham Henderson (13m30s). It was a fitting win for Bish, and his first win in this event over 35 years. The 5m break riders came in another 3 minutes back headed by Richard Olliver. Fastest time honours went to scratch marker Callum Saunders (home on holiday from Cambridge and a stint in the States on the track) dominant in the sprint from Luc Cowley and Gerard van Antwerpen.
The  Junior Under 17 riders competing for the Opening Day Cup over 18km. The event was run as a maseds start with 3 riders in contention in the last lap. In the sprint home Finn McKenzie took line honours over Caitlin Murphy with Liam Nicholls finishing just 22 seconds back in third place.

Results: Open Grade 36km Hcp (Vincent Shield) – K Bishell (10m) 1, R Dunn (10m) 2, G Henderson (13m30s) 3, P Nicholls (13m30s) 4, D Craig (10m) 5, S Rooney (10m) 6, T Little (10m) 7, C Ireland (13m30s) 8, C Murphy (13m30s) 9, K Batt (10m) . Fastest Time-  C Saunders (scr) 53m03s 1, L Cowley (scr) 53m05s 2, G van Antwerpen (scr) 53m05s 3, N Batt (scr) 53m06s 4, C Harper (scr) 53m07s 5.
Junior Under 17 Grade 18km (Opening Day Cup) – F McKenzie 34m11s 1, C Murphy 34m12s 2, L Nicholls 34m33s 3, A Kopua 39m55s 4, F Kopua 42m06s 5.