Hall Takes Vincent Shield on Opening Day

The open grade rode over 5 laps (36km) of the Lower Wairau course for the opening day Vincent Shield handicap event. Front markers Warren Hall and Katie Batt (off 15m) teamed well together and with a well paced ride kept away from the chasing groups. A long sprint finish saw Hall take line honours and the Vincent Shield over Batt. Hall also won the trophy in 1984 and 2006. A good strong finish by Craig Anderson (off 6m) saw him take a well deserved third place 25 seconds ahead of the combined scratch and break groups. Gerard van Antwerpen took fastest time over co-marker Nick Batt.
The Junior under 17 grade saw scratch rider Finn McKenzie ride through the field for first and fastest time to retain the Opening Day Cup. Marcus Macdonald (off 6m) was second and Matthew Hall (off 6m) was third.
Open 36km  handicap event from Lower Wairau.
W Hall (off 15m) Vincent Shield 1, K Batt (off 15m) 2, C Anderson (off 6m) 3, G van Antwerpen (off scr) 4, N Batt (off scr) 5, F Greer (off 2m) 6, J McKenzie (off scr) 7, A Gifford (off 2m) 8, S Rooney (off 2m) 9, M Murphy (off 6m) 10. Fastest time- G van Antwerpen (scr) 54m55s 1, N Batt (scr) s.t. 2, J McKenzie (scr) 55m00s 3.  Junior 14km handicap- F McKenzie (off scr) 1, M Macdonald (off 6m) 2, M Hall (off 6m) 3. Fastest time- F McKenzie (scr) 27m39s 1.